Top 5 Wednesday: Book Series You Wish Had More Books

  1. Harry Potter series
  2. Grisha series
  3. Shadowhunter series
  4. Old Kingdom series
  5. Chemical Garden series

I’m super excited to tackle this Top 5 Wednesday today. I tend to read a lot of book series and absolutely adore them. When you finish a series sometimes it feels like they have run their course or come to the right conclusion but others feel as if they could go on forever. There are quite a few that I wish could go on forever but let’s stick with five for now.

The first on my list is of course the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. These were books I grew up with, waiting impatiently for the next one to be released and any little tidbits of information along the way. I still get ever so excited when Pottermore gives us new details or Rowling tweets about the world. I’m waiting with bated breath for the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie next year to explore further. I would love to see a story from the Marauder’s generation along with the rest of the fandom or even just the trio as adults. I could live in this world and the hope for a new HP book will always be alive for me.

Next up is the Grisha series from Leigh Bardugo. I fell in love with this series at the beginning of the year and now can’t get enough of it. I’m impatiently waiting for Six of Crows, her new novel set in the same universe, due out September 29th, 2015. I loved the characters in the books and the setting was absolutely wonderful. I can’t wait to explore this world again and want to continue exploring it for a long time. I dream of having a book about Nikolai Lantsov down the line after Bardugo finishes this new series.

Cassandra Clare’s vast world of shadowhunters has already been explored in two full series and at least three more series will be coming out. I loved The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices and I’m thrilled for the new series The Dark Artifices coming out in March. Clare has developed this world from the beginning and I always fall in love with her characters. I will continue reading these forever and ever and look forward to what comes next.

The Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix is another more recent discovery that I fell head over heels for. These young adult fantasy novels focusing on free magic and th power over the dead really pulled me in and I love every experience in this world. From the main novels to any novellas Nix has wrote that are set in the Old Kingdom I cannot get enough. I still have yet to read Clariel and look forward to more time in this world but I could always use more, especially focusing on Lirael and Sam.

My last pick, the Chemical Garden trilogy by Lauren DeStefano, kind of surprised me. As I was looking through my shelves these three books caught my eye and got me thinking. I really enjoyed this series but at the end I was wanting more. I needed to know what came next, how the main characters continued on in this dystopian universe. The ending was still great and sufficed for the story at hand but I just felt like more could have been explored if more books were written.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s Top 5! Tell me your Top 5 in the comments.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group at https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Book Series You Wish Had More Books

Leave a Reply

