Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Things about Blogging

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group at https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday.

  1. Community
  2. Recommendations
  3. Sharing Thoughts
  4. Book Love
  5. Experience

I’ve only recently started blogging myself but so far these are my favorite things about it. First off the community is amazing! It’s wonderful to see so many passionate people with a love for the written word.  The twitter chats, the read-a-thons; I’ve seen so many in my first month and I can’t wait to participate. Everyone supporting one another and promoting one another is beautiful to see. It makes me so happy to be apart of something bigger and it is only just the beginning!

Next up comes recommendations since I love knowing what everyone else is reading and loving. It’s amazing how many books a person can miss even while working at a library. I look to other bloggers’ reviews for their opinions, to decide whether I might like a book, or just to get book ideas in general. Sometimes you just run into a rut and then a novel catches your eye.

I hadn’t realized how much I like sharing my thoughts on books until I started writing reviews. Getting words down on the page and expressing how I feel about a novel is cathartic and part of the reading experience. I tell people in daily life about the books I love so why not express that to the greater world. If my thoughts about a novel lead someone else to a book they come to love then I’m all the more happy for it.

The amount of book love across the internet is absolutely outstanding and I cannot wait to add all of mine into the mix. The unending devotion to the written word and it’s authors is phenomenal and it makes me so happy to see the joy spread between people about books. Whether it’s through a blog or Goodreads, Twitter or Tumblr, Youtube or any other site, the love for books can not be denied.

Last on my list would have to be my experience so far. It’s been great! The idea of blogging hit me right at the end of July and I spent some time working on a WordPress site. Thank God for WordPress! My website creating skills are basically zero and this site has made it way easy for me to put things together. I want to dive in deeper eventually but I want to get a consistent schedule down and focus on reviews first. I still have a lot to learn in both aspects but it’s a process and one I’m really enjoying!

Let me know what you love about blogging and check back next week for Top 5 Books with Mental Health/Illness.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Things about Blogging

  1. Definitely agree! Especially the one with WordPress being simple, lol. I’m no tech genius and I can do somethings but I tried so many different website and blogging platforms (tumblr, blogspot, weebly) but WordPress was the simplest to create and customise and in a way, a social media platform like YouTube or Wattpad 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award Nomination | A HalfBlood Fangirl

Leave a Reply

