Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Discovered this Year

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Renée Ahdieh
  2. Elise Kova
  3. Catherynne M. Valente
  4. Amie Kaufman
  5. Louise O’Neill

187989832312704886943892339568022716613

Let’s just say my author discoveries this year have been pretty darn good!

First up is Renée Ahdieh with The Wrath and the Dawn. I didn’t discover this until late summer even though it came out in May but it was getting a lot of buzz. This story was right up my alley but Ahdieh took it to a whole new level with such luscious descriptions, intricate details, and tension so palpable the heart was constantly racing. I’m anxiously waiting for The Rose and the Dagger next year!

I discovered Elise Kova and her first book Air Awakens from blogger interaction on Twitter. I was sold with the cover and the mention of Avatar the Last Airbender but the novel itself is absolutely wonderful. I love the characters, the intrigue, and this new world to dive into. The next book in the series, Fire Falling, comes out in November and I’m already impatient for it. Check out my review of Air Awakens on Friday for more in depth gushing.

This year I have read four books by Catherynne M. Valente after hearing such high praise from Jen Campbell, author and booktuber. I first started with her children’s Fairyland series which are seeping with magic, creativity, and spunk to boot. Extensive world building, eccentric characters; Valente is a master of the written word. Deathless shows her range creating a dark, captivating adult novel that is graphic and violent yet possesses the heart in much the same way.

My first foray with Amie Kaufman comes from her new novel Illuminae co-authored with Jay Kristoff. Kaufman does an excellent job as co-conspirator in this brilliant novel. Compelling characters and off the charts drama go hand in hand in this outstanding space adventure. I’m really interested in reading her other books now and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

Last but certainly not least is Louise O’Neill. Her first book Only Ever Yours was released in May in the United States and I was absolutely blown away by her powerful commentary on society through the lens of a slightly dystopian world. It’s harsh, realistic and so unfortunate yet it makes you take a good look at yourself and the world around us. I will definitely be reading her second book, Asking for It, and anything else she puts out in the future.

So tell me your Top 5 Authors You Discovered This Year and check back next week for Top 5 Wednesday: Halloween Recs!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors I Discovered this Year

  1. I am SO HAPPY to see you mention Catherynne Valente and Deathless. She’s pretty much my favourite author and Deathless is one of my top 10 of all time. I love her command of the English language, urgh so beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

