Comic Review: Wytches, Vol. 1 by Scott Snyder

25243735Wytches, Vol 1. by Scott Snyder

Published by Image Comics on October 8, 2014

Genres: Adult, Graphic, Horror, Supernatural

Pages: 144 Format: Paperback Source: Library

2/5 Stars

Everything you thought you knew about witches is wrong. They are much darker, and they are much more horrifying. Wytches takes the mythology of witches to a far creepier, bone-chilling place than readers have dared venture before. When the Rooks family moves to the remote town of Litchfield, NH to escape a haunting trauma, they’re hopeful about starting over. But something evil is waiting for them in the woods just beyond town. Watching from the trees. Ancient…and hungry. Collects Wytches #1-6.

Honestly I was kind of disappointed with Wytches by Scott Snyder. I didn’t know much about it going in, only that it was creepy and disturbing. I certainly wasn’t expecting the story that unfurled before me. A family tries to start a new life in a small town after suffering some tragic events but it’s not so easy to escape the past and the darkness. I felt the first scene was grabbing but then the story struggled to keep me interested. That being said I really liked the way it ended.

The connection between father and daughter while difficult was endearing and a welcome experience within the comic. I think this was the greatest highlight for me. The familial struggle plus the handling of anxiety grounded Wytches and helped to draw me in when the plot and art could not. The art just wasn’t my style. It was well done but some of the images were too hard to discern for my crummy eyes. The color spectrum was tinged with a darkness so even brighter colors seemed to dim.

Overall Scott Snyder’s Wytches just really didn’t do it for me. The story struggled to keep me entertained and the art didn’t excite me. It may appeal to others but I just was not feeling it. If your looking for dark, horrifying, and graphic this will be right up your alley.

Have you read Wytches by Scott Snyder? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

