ARC Review: For the Record by Charlotte Huang

25241527For the Record by Charlotte Huang

Published by Delacorte Press on November 10, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Music

Pages: 320 Format: ARC Source: Library

3.5/5 Stars

This ARC was received by my library department for marketing purposes. This does not affect my opinions in any way.

Chelsea thought she knew what being a rock star was like . . . until she became one. After losing a TV talent show, she slid back into small-town anonymity. But one phone call changed everything
 
Now she’s the lead singer of the band Melbourne, performing in sold-out clubs every night and living on a bus with three gorgeous and talented guys. The bummer is that the band barely tolerates her. And when teen hearthrob Lucas Rivers take an interest in her, Chelsea is suddenly famous, bringing Melbourne to the next level—not that they’re happy about that. Her feelings for Beckett, Melbourne’s bassist, are making life even more complicated.
 
Chelsea only has the summer tour to make the band—and their fans—love her. If she doesn’t, she’ll be back in Michigan for senior year, dying a slow death. The paparazzi, the haters, the grueling schedule . . . Chelsea believed she could handle it. But what if she can’t?

A story about the music scene with some romance added to the mix. Sign me up! When For the Record by Charlotte Huang caught my eye I wasn’t sure if I could fit it into my schedule, but once I picked it up it was no problem at all. Here are my highlights and lowlights of this story:

What I Liked

  • The book was totally engrossing. I could not put it down and ended up finishing it within a day. Just had to know the ending!
  • The music scene was absolutely absorbing. The exploration of band life and the toll of traveling on tour was fascinating to experience.
  • The writing was fluid and fun while keeping the plot moving at a good pace.
  • That band name: Melbourne. Love it!!!

What I Didn’t Like

  • The fact that Chelsea can’t seem to do anything right.
  • Lucas Rivers is just so awful and aggravating.
  • Best friends do not do that!
  • So I guess pretty much the characterization as a whole bothered me.

Overall For the Record by Charlotte Huang was an up and down experience for me. There were things I loved, things that got under my skin, and things I could really care less about. It’s a fast read that keeps you intrigued throughout and explores a pretty cool setting. I think this book is worth a shot and I enjoyed the rollercoaster of a ride.

Favorite Quotes

  1. “Apparate. It’s from Harry Potter, which means it’s an official part of the English language,” I said. “Look it up.”
  2. So the day had started out rich with possibility but ended with me fighting for bathroom privileges. Sounded about right.
  3. “It’s not a big deal,” Pem said. One stage hand looked like he wanted to jump on Pem and beat him senseless. “The weather cleared and the alternative station wanted to do a ticket promotion. So now instead of two thousand people, we’ll get about five thousand.”
  4. The next morning, we climbed into a town car. We all wore dark glasses and didn’t speak a single word to one another.

Are you going to check out For the Record by Charlotte Huang? If you could follow any band around the country, who would it be?

Leave a Reply

