Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Did Not Finish

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
  2. Tender Morsels
  3. Boy, Snow, Bird
  4. Mistborn

I want to preface this list by saying that I very rarely DNF books. It has to do with my stubborn will to finish something that I have started. I’ll probably go into more detail about my feelings on putting down books in a discussion post, but here’s what I have for this, well, Top 4.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin is the first book that always comes to mind when I think of books I did not finish. I’ve heard so many great things about it, it’s right in my niche, but when I picked it up I lasted only like ten pages. I think it was the writing that bothered me and I didn’t give it a shot because I had other books to read.

Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan was a book I purchased, started, and then just felt weighed down by the story. The book stills interests me and every time I see it on my TBR shelf I think about picking it up. It is still on my currently reading list on Goodreads as a reminder to get back to it. I spent money on it after all.

Helen Oyeyemi’s Boy, Snow, Bird was another book with recommendations I trusted that just did not keep me interested. I got about ninety pages in, then decided to prioritize books I was really excited about.

So Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson was a book I actually really liked but put it down for other things and I have yet to get back to it. The world was intriguing, the characters were just starting to be fleshed out. It was all coming together but there were just too many books to read. Out of these four I will definitely be going back to Mistborn in the future.

See, I couldn’t even come up with five books. There could be ones I’m not remembering, weren’t marked on Goodreads, or came before I actually thought of it as DNF. I still intend to go back and pick some of these up down the line, but whether or not that actually happens is another story.

What are your Top 5 Books You Did Not Finish? Leave them in the comments below and check back next week for Top 5 Hunger Games Moments!

Leave a Reply

