Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Thankful For

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter
  2. Six of Crows
  3. The Night Circus
  4. Crocodile on the Sandbank
  5. Rat Queens

hp123437156936158918823020299683

I decided to go with a mix of different titles for my Top 5 Books I’m Thankful For. A few old, a few new but all of them will stick with me for a long time.

First up has to be Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. I’m sure no one is surprised with this choice. These books have defined my life. I had always been a reader, but this series took my passion to a whole new level. It was the first time I analyzed a book, theorized about what would happen in the next one. It gave me a home, introduced me to fandom, and began my internet life. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without them.

Next up is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I adore everything Leigh writes but this book was on a whole other level. I spent most of the year waiting for it and could not be happier with the pay off. Six of Crows is what brought me into the book blogging community and connected me with so many others who love talking about books. I’ll just be over here impatiently waiting for Crooked Kingdom.

I chose The Night Circus by Erin Morgensten for this list because this book has stuck with me ever since I read it. The magic, the mystery, the game that started it all. It is such a well written, interconnected beauty of a story that bewitched me body and soul. I actually listened to it on audiobook this year for a reread and I could go back to this story over and over. It has my heart.

The Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters is one most people may not have heard of. An adult mystery series set in the late 1800s, early 1900s in Egypt mostly following Amelia Peabody on her archeological adventures. These were the books that ignited my extreme interest in Ancient Egypt. The characters are fantastic and the storylines follow the mystery pattern but are still unique to each book. I love them so much.

I thought it necessary to add a comic/graphic novel to this list since they have become such a big part of my life. Rat Queens by Kurtis Wiebe came out of nowhere and surprised me to no end. A team of four very different women living and fighting for profit and fun. Its dark, funny fantasy with plenty of drink, drugs, and sex to go around. The sass is strong and the women are complex. Cannot wait for more of their adventures to come.

So what are your Top 5 Books You’re Thankful For? Let me know in the comments and check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

 

Leave a Reply

