Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Audiobooks

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter
  2. The Night Circus
  3. A Series of Unfortunate Events
  4. Fangirl

hp1936158917232716068905

So here’s the thing: I’m really bad at listening to audiobooks. When I’m in the car, I want to be rocking out to music. I just cannot zero in on listening to a book. Most often I use audiobooks for rereading purposes. Here’s my shortened version: a Top 4 Audiobooks.

First I’m going with Harry Potter. What’s a list without HP in it anyways? It was the first audiobook I ever listened to. Narrated by Jim Dale, the wizarding world is brought to life in yet another format. Still just as enthralling and wondrous as the original work. Dale is outstanding, wielding his voice to bring characters to life.

Yet another Jim Dale narrated tale, The Night Circus, provides the perfect amount of whimsy to carry Erin Morgenstern’s story. I love this book so much and wanted to reread it and audiobook was the perfect choice even though it’s a long one. Dale’s voice is so soothing, I could listen to him read just about anything. He can certainly narrate my life any day.

A Series of Unfortunate Events are the only audiobooks that I have listened to without reading the books previously. I didn’t read them as a kid and when I started to read them, it was just so repetitive. I’ve found listening to them is a lot easier and they don’t take up too much time.  Tim Curry’s narration is much more dramatic and spooky then Lemony Snicket’s.

Rounding out the list is another reread in Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. The narration brings the same light hearted joy that the original provides and adds new dimension to the characters and story. It made me fall in love with Levi all over again. I loved this book and the audio was just as wonderful.

So that was my shortened version of Top 5 Favorite Audiobooks. Any tips and tricks for listening? Amazing recommendations? I really want to get better at listening to stories! Let me know your Top 5 Audiobooks in the comments below and check back next week for Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Retellings!

Leave a Reply

