Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Retellings

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. The Wrath & The Dawn
  2. The Lunar Chronicles
  3. Fables
  4. Ella Enchanted
  5. The Penelopiad

I love retellings of fairytales and stories. Reshaping, twisting, and inventing new ways to tell narratives that transcend time itself is such a lovely thing. Here are a few of my favorite ones!

First up is The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh which was inspired by A Thousand and One Nights. Lush descriptions, tension that jumps off the page, and fierce characters drive this story of survival. This book held me captivated, my heart equally attached. I cannot wait until The Rose & The Dagger comes out in 2016!

Next up is The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I discovered this series way back when Cinder was first released. The combination of fairytales and science fiction are perfectly mixed and I was sucked in right from the start. I love the adaptation of so many characters especially that each book focuses on another. I’m equal parts excited and terrified to start Winter!

Third on this list is the graphic novel series Fables by Bill Willingham. I am still working through these issues and the offshoots but it is such a wide ranging narrative. Every character under the sun, big and small, turns up at one point or another and I love that they have sought refuge in modern day New York. Some day I will get through it all!

For four I am going all the way back into my childhood with Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. I absolutely adored this book when I was younger, constantly rereading it. Cinderella was never one of my favorite tales but Levine’s crafting of the story thrilled me. I cannot get enough of this book!

Last but certainly not least I chose The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood. Instead of a fairytale, this book is a retelling of Homer’s epic The Odyssey. I actually had to read this in college for my Classical Mythology course and truly loved this story from Penelope and her twelve hanged maids’ perspective.

So, what are your Top 5 Favorite Retellings? Let me know in the comments below and check back next week for Top 5 Books to Read by the Fire!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Retellings

  1. I am currently reading the Lunar Chronicles. On Cress right now. So far, loving it! Ella Enchanted is one I have but still need to get to. I will have to look into The Wrath and the Dawn by the sounds of it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Posts | Hopeful Reads

Leave a Reply

