Top 5 Wednesday: Best Books of the Year

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Six of Crows
  2. The Wrath and the Dawn
  3. Fire Falling
  4. The Weight of Feathers
  5. The Mime Order

Do you know how hard it is to narrow my favorite books down to five for an entire year? I was going to do it by category then realized the majority of favorites come from the fantasy realm. It’s obviously my favorite genre! I did manage it though.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo was hands down my book of the year which will come as no surprise to most. It was the one I was impatiently waiting for in the first half of 2015 and then could not stop talking about after I’d read it. An absolutely fantastic cast of characters, extensive worldbuiling, magic and mischief. This book has everything I could ever ask for!

Up next is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. It was one of my greatest discoveries of the year and I didn’t find it until a few months after its release. A fairytale retelling, sumptuous detail and description, and a fierce female main character to boot! Not to mention one of my new book boyfriends. This one was made for me!

Another amazing discovery this year was Elise Kova’s fantasy series. Fire Falling, the second book, completely blew me away. Her writing spans the full scale of human emotions: happiness and sadness, joy and utter desperation. This was tension done right and an ending that may haunt me for the rest of my days.

The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore was another book that just came out of nowhere and stole my heart. The writing was superb and had just the right spark of magic to make me weak at the knees. Rivalry, romance, and culture all swirled together in this fantastic book. I was a complete mess by the end of this book in the best way possible.

The only book from the beginning of the year on this list is The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon. Picking up just after The Bone Season, this one jumps right into life in Scion London and that of The Seven Seals. Intrigue dripped off the page. Blood, betrayal; there was so much happening and I loved it. I cannot wait for the next installment!

So that was my Top 5 Books of 2015. Were you able to narrow down your list? In the comments, let me know some of your favorite reads from this year!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Best Books of the Year

  1. Okay, so #’s 1, 2, 3 are all on my list too! (Mind you, I didn’t make a post, because I don’t know how I could pick) but I loved TWATD, Six Of Crows and Fire Falling! The other two, I haven’t read yet, but I have seen lots about The Weight of Feathers. Great post!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

