Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Fandoms

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter
  2. Star Wars
  3. Liverpool F.C.
  4. Doctor Who
  5. Firefly

Oh how I love fandoms! It was so hard to narrow it down to just five but I managed to pick ones that always come to the forefront in my mind when the discussion arises.

Let’s start with the original fandom, my first and my last, my everything. Too much? Absolutely not! Harry Potter has been a defining series in so many of our lives and for me it was the gateway to everything that came afterwards. This community provided me a place to discuss the books I love, create, theorize, etc. and my life would be completely different without it.

Star Wars is one that has ebbed and flowed throughout my lifetime but is currently at an all time high. I watched the original trilogy when I was young, saw all of the prequels in theaters, had a massive crush on Hayden Christensen, and now could talk for hours and hours about The Force Awakens. It’s a story that stays with you and I will read it and watch it for a long long time.

I am switching it up a bit and going with a sports team for one of my picks. I grew up playing, watching, and basically living soccer and the team I support above all else is Liverpool F.C. There are a lot of ups and downs but nothing will sever that connection regardless of how loud I yell at my television. It’s not the only sport I love but it is the one closes to my heart.

Oh Doctor Who, discovering you was a blessing and a curse. Powering through fives seasons on Netflix to get caught up with New Who was an emotional roller coaster. It’s filled with such hope and yet such sadness. The creativity of the community and the wonderful cosplays that come from fans is amazing. Who wouldn’t want to travel through time and space with the Doctor?

Rounding out my favorite fandoms is Firefly, the little show that could. For a television show that didn’t even get a full season, the tenacity and strength of fans makes me so happy. They made a movie for goodness sake! I didn’t discover the show until way later but I still curse Fox on a day to day basis for their foolishness. The passion of Firefly fans makes me so happy and I love this show so much!

Like most of these fandoms the people within them are inventive, unique, and for the most part kind and I wouldn’t have it any other way. So, what are your Top 5 Fandoms? Let me know in the comments and check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Fandoms

  1. This is such a fun feature – and it seems a great question today!
    My top five fandoms would be:
    1. Star Wars
    2. Harry Potter
    3. Stephanie Perkins – Anna, Lola, Isla. (I’m making that a fandom. LOL)
    4. Boston Bruins Hockey
    5. Pokemon

    So glad to find another Star Wars fangirl! Are you Dark Side or Light Side?

    Like

Leave a Reply

