Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Self-Published Books

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

An Ode to Elise Kova

So, here’s the thing. Before last year, I don’t think I had ever read a self published book. Whether it was me not giving credence to indie authors or my focus being on the multitude of books being released every day, I just hadn’t given them a chance. That all changed when I created my blog and discovered everyone talking about Air Awakens.

This book just kept popping up on the Internet, everywhere from Twitter to Goodreads. The cover art is absolutely stunning and will definitely draw readers in, but the blurb is what really sold me on this story. I immediately purchased Air Awakens and read it right after Six of Crows, my favorite book of 2015, and still loved it.

One of the great things about being self-published must be setting your own release dates. Thankfully Elise is kind enough to keep the releases close together. Fire Falling came out in November and I devoured that book letting it destroy me in the process. Earth’s End is out in February and Book Four in April and I am highly anticipating all of them!

Elise Kova does an excellent job of promoting her books, interacting with people on Twitter, and handling her own Street Team. The effort that must go into doing all of this without the backing of a publisher has to be difficult but she doesn’t let it show. She is so generous, kind, and fun. Her passion for this story is why we are able to read it now and I am so thankful for that.

This series has completely blown me away. The writing, the worldbuilding; each and every character is unique and compelling. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader on their toes and enough tension and emotion to make you sob or be stunned into silence. If publishers passed this up, there has got to be talented authors out there that I’ve missed.

I realize this isn’t a Top 5 list and that I just gushed about Elise Kova for an entire post. I wanted to give her credit though, for this amazing series and for making me want to read more indie titles. I’m going to need a list, so let me know some of your favorite self-published books and authors.

Check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Self-Published Books

Leave a Reply

