Classic of the Month: Treasure Island

TreasureIslandTreasure Island by Robert-Louis Stevenson

Published by Barnes & Noble on September 25, 2012

Genres: Fiction, Adventure, Historical, Middle Grade, Children’s

Pages: 272 Format: Hardcover Source: Purchased

4/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

When he attends a dying patron of his family’s boarding house, young Jim Hawkins has no idea that the man was once a pirate, or that the man’s possessions include a map that will lead whoever has it to the island where the notorious buccaneer, Captain Flint, buried his treasure. Jim and his guardians hire a boat to sail to the island, unaware that crew they have hired includes many members of Flint’s pirate band, among them former quartermaster Long John Silver, and that they hope to claim the treasure for their own. The ensuing action-packed adventure established the classic pirate story as it was written for more than a century afterward, and it made the literary reputation of its young author, Robert Louis Stevenson.

Finding himself in possession of a treasure map leading to the legendary Captain Flint’s loot, Jim Hawkins joins a quest to find the island and bring back untold riches. Unfortunately a few of Flint’s former crew have other ideas. Led by Long John Silver, a mutiny is mounted, and the two sides fight for survival as well as the gold.

WHEN I Discovered This Classic

I feel like Treasure Island has been on my radar for a long time. I probably heard about it when I was younger but never got around to reading it. Watching Black Sails was a welcome reminder that Robert Louis Stevenson’s story was still waiting for me to dive right in. 

WHY I Chose to Read It

I’m on a bit of a pirate binge at the moment. I watched both seasons of Black Sails in less than a week and needed more swashbuckling tales. Since Long John Silver, Billy Bones, and Captain Flint are all a part of both Black Sails and Treasure Island I thought it would be the perfect fit. Treasure Island is actually the second book I’ve read this month that is pirate related and I’m currently reading another one right now. I cannot be stopped!

WHAT Makes It A Classic

Treasure Island is the perfect beginner adventure novel. It takes a naïve boy and exposes him to a cruel, dangerous world. He could have hidden away but he learns how to survive and thrive. It becomes his element. This book is a very relatable story, maybe not the pirate part, but the coming of age and learning how to live in a new world. Plus who doesn’t like pirates?

WHAT I Thought of This Classic

I really enjoyed Stevenson’s Treasure Island. It may be my current pirate obsession talking but I thought it was well written and kept you intrigued with lots of action and excitement. I loved getting into Long John Silver’s characterization especially after watching Black Sails. The way he is able to maneuver and scrape out of situations was thrilling. It was an excellent little adventure.

WILL It Stay A Classic

I definitely believe Treasure Island will continue to be labeled a classic. It already stands the test of time and plays on everyone’s fascination with pirate life whether it be fact or fiction. With great adventure and life or death stakes, readers will continue to explore Stevenson’s world.

WHO I’d Recommend It To

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves a great adventure and pirate life. Treasure Island makes for a great read especially for children and teens just getting into the classics genre.

So have you read Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson? Do you love pirates in literature, television, and film? Tell me you thoughts and favorite pirate depictions in the comments below!

Since this year I am partaking in the 2016 Classics Challenge run by Stacey at PrettyBooks, I thought I’d change my format a bit and answer the questions she sets out.

3 thoughts on “Classic of the Month: Treasure Island

Leave a Reply

