Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

AttachmentsAttachments by Rainbow Rowell

Published by Plume on March 27, 2012

Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance, Contemporary

Pages: 323 Format: Paperback Source: Gift

4/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

Like all the other Rainbow Rowell books that I’ve read before, Attachments has that unique spark and writing that I can immediately connect with. Romance is the name of the game when it comes to Rowell and she excels at it. There’s a new spin this time around: the romantic interests have never met. Lincoln reads people’s email for a living, an interaction catches his eye, and so it begins…

First, let’s talk characters. Lincoln O’Neill was the most relatable character of the whole bunch. Struggling to find himself in the world, an unhappy job, living at home. Not everyone finds their fit right away and it never gets easier. Each of the characters experience it. Whether it be Jennifer in her marriage, Lincoln’s mother as a parent, or Beth in her relationship. The struggle for purpose and comfort is real.

I’ve got to say the premise of this one kind of bothered me. It’s all well and good to meet someone through the wires and workings of the internet but without their knowledge just seemed wrong. At least it wasn’t overlooked. Lincoln confronts these realities, questions them. It was just an uncomfortable situation. I did like the juxtaposition of falling for someone by sight only though.

The setting in Attachments was definitely a standout for me. The end of 1999, the coming of Y2K, the start of a new millennium. I don’t think I’ve read anything around this time frame. I was twelve then and remember all the buzz of that big change but like most New Year’s Eves it was kind of a dud. The hysteria and panic, all for nothing. It was fun yet strange to look back on.

Overall Attachments by Rainbow Rowell was another great story about love and finding yourself. With great characters and a unique setting, this book was so enjoyable. Attachments will resonate with teens and adults alike and I’d definitely recommend it to everyone. I’m a big fan of Rowell’s writing having now read all of her books and I cannot wait to see her at an event later this month.

Favorite Quotes

  1. “October, baptize me with leaves! Swaddle me in corduroy and nurse me with split pea soup. October, tuck tiny candy bars in my pockets and carve my smile into a thousand pumpkins. O autumn! O teakettle! O grace!”
  2. “That’s because you ooze preemptive leave-me-alone death rays.”
  3. “I don’t know if I even believe in that anymore. The right guy. The perfect guy. The one. I’ve lost faith in “the”.
    How do you feel about “a” and “an”?
    Indifferent.
    So you’re considering a life without articles?”
  4. “I think I missed my window.”
    “What window?”
    “My get-a-life window. I think I was supposed to figure all this stuff out somewhere between twenty-two and twenty-six, and now it’s too late.”
  5. “It’s so easy for someone else to say, ‘Don’t worry. Everything’s going to be all right.’ Why not say it? It doesn’t cost anything. It doesn’t mean anything. No one will hold you to it if you’re wrong.”

So have you read Attachments by Rainbow Rowell? Do you have a favorite book of hers? Can you remember Y2K? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

