Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Were Spoiled For

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. The Raven Boys
  2. Lord of the Rings
  3. Atonement
  4. Throne of Glass
  5. Classics

I’ve try to do the best I can to not get spoiled on the oh so many books that are out in the world but I haven’t always been successful. The internet can be a wonderful place but the dangers of spoilers is always present. Here are some I just did not manage to avoid!

I just started reading The Raven Cycle this month but I feel like I already know these books too well. Thanks to Tumblr, I’ve probably been spoiled the most for this series. It’s as if I’ve already read the books. I’m positive these books are going to break me though as so many do these days.

Yes, I have not read Lord of the Rings, The Two Towers, and Return of the King. It’s astounding really since they are some of my favorite films to watch. I started the first one early on in high school and I still intend to finish them. I’m sure there are plenty of differences and missing pieces in the book but I know the vast majority of it from the movies.

Honestly I started reading Atonement and just could not finish it. I didn’t even get that far and now I’m realizing I forgot this for my DNF Top 5. I absolutely loved this movie but the book did nothing for me and I already knew the story. Probably should have tried to read it first.

I wouldn’t say I’ve been too spoiled for Throne of Glass. Obviously it’s been out for awhile and it seems like everyone is always talking about it. For the most part I just know characters and ships. Not anything massive or ruining my desire to read it. I’ll get there eventually.

Now here’s the thing about classics. They’ve been around for a long time and a lot of people just assume that you have read them, so a lot of details about them are around. For me, I didn’t read a lot of classics in high school and even though I’ve been trying to read a classic a month for the past couple years, I go in knowing a lot about the books beforehand.

So, what are your Top 5 Books You Were Spoiled For? Let me know in the comments below and check back next week for Top 5 Best Suggested Books You Loved!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Were Spoiled For

  1. Getting spoiled really is the worst. Usually I can avoid them but unfortunately they just pop up out of nowhere sometimes. I know a lot people have been spoiled for Throne of Glass but there’s so much to those books that there is still lots to discover. It is one of my favorite series and I hope you’re able to enjoy them at some point. I try to avoid tumblr, 1 because I don’t want to be spoiled, 2 because I don’t really understand it. LOL. Here’s hoping to no more spoilers this year!

    Like

    • Yes to no more spoilers! I’m really excited to start Throne of Glass. I’m gonna read A Court of Thorns and Roses first though since it’s waiting on my shelf. It’s going to be a Sarah J Maas year, I can feel it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

