Top 5 Wednesday: Best Suggested Books You Loved

 

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Amelia Peabody series
  2. All the Light We Cannot See
  3. Everything I Never Told You
  4. The Yellow Wallpaper
  5. Saga

I love getting book suggestions from other people. Online, books are recommended left and right and the hype is so real. But I also enjoy when those closer to home share an amazing story they picked up. Here are some my top books that had been suggested to me.

First up is the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters which is one of my favorite series of all time. Mysteries, Egyptology, set in the Victorian Age. It’s so freaking good! My aunt was actually the one who got me into these books. She was reading one of the books on a visit and thought I might enjoy them. She was absolutely correct!

My coworkers at the library all have such different reading tastes but All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr was one that all of us picked up. Oh it was such a fantastic read! Compelling, intriguing, and emotional. If you haven’t picked up this historical fiction set in WWII, please do so immediately.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, a story about family and the secrets we keep from them, was a book I went into knowing very little about except that my coworker loved it. I gave it a shot and it was so worth it! There are few books that everyone in our library department can get into and this was definitely a winner for all of us!

I had never heard of The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman in my high school years but its a classic I constantly hear mentioned now. Everyone from booktube to my coworkers talk about it and I’ve got to say I really loved it myself. It’s amazing for its women’s perspective and discussion of mental illness.

I’m going with a graphic novel for this last pick. If you haven’t been recommended Saga by Brian K. Vaughan yet you may be living under a rock. It’s one of the most talked about graphic series and with good reason. An epic space opera/fantasy with gorgeous depictions, it’s the talk of the town at my comic shop as well as the internet.

So that’s my list of Top 5 Suggested Books I Loved! Let me know your Top 5 in the comments below and check back next week for Top 5 Worst Love Interests!

Leave a Reply

