Top 5 Wednesday: Worst Love Interests

 

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Joffrey Baratheon
  2. Holden Caulfield
  3. Margo Roth Spiegelman
  4. The Darkling
  5. Draco Malfoy

I am all about romance in books whether its the focus or just a part of the bigger picture. Becoming way to attached to these fictional characters, who inevitably will crush my soul one way or another. Awful love interests however get no sympathy from me, just unbridled rage. These are some of the worst love interests out there with my varied reasoning.

Worst of the worst goes to Joffrey Baratheon or Lannister, what ever you want to call him, from A Song of Ice and Fire. If you read the books or have seen the show, I don’t need to go on. It’s pretty obvious but he’s a vicious, vindictive child playing as king. He takes joy in causing pain in others, showing off, and destroying people’s lives. Joffrey is just awful.

Next I went with Holden Caulfield from The Catcher in the Rye. I just hate Holden’s character as a whole and he completely ruined this book for me. He’s a liar and completely ignores his date. He just grates on my nerves so this is just more from personal dislike than his actions. Still sucks though.

The whole point of Paper Towns is that Margo Roth Spiegelman is not someone you should want to date or fall in love with. It’s supposed to be the destruction of the manic pixie dream girl concept. And yet, time and time again, we find ourselves pulled in by the stereotype. Anyone who leaves without a word is not worth your time.

The Grisha Trilogy is one of my favorite series ever and I still cannot understand the appeal of The Darkling as a good love interest. I’ve liked my fair share of bad boys but I think he may be at the extremes for appeal. Plus when Nikolai and Mal are in play why would you pick anyone else.

Technically Draco Malfoy was not a love interest in Harry Potter unless you count Pansy Parkinson but the fandoms fascination with shipping him with Hermione or Ginny or even Harry just never sat well with me. He was a jerk, plain and simple. Planning murder, inflicting pain on others, bullying. Not the type of boyfriend material I’d be looking for.

So, what do you think of my Top 5 Worst Love Interests? Agree or disagree? Let me know in the comments below and check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

P.S. Please don’t hate me Darkling and Draco lovers!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Worst Love Interests

  1. I don’t actually understand all the Draco shipping. XD I’m like SUPER late to the fandom so I’d seen sooo much stuff (like headcanons and posts like that) that I thought Draco sort of would redeem himself?! HE DIDN’T. I was really disappointed. 😦 I do love to vote for the anti-hero and villains, but eh. I also don’t understand the appeal of the Darkling WHEN THERE IS NIKOLAI THE MOST PRECIOUS DARLING IN THIS UNIVERSE. OMG. ❤ Ahem. ;D

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Yes Nikolai is pretty much all that matters to me even though I loved Mal too. I liked The Darkling as a character, not as a love interest though. We always want the bad boys to be redeemed but when does that ever happen to the point of falling in love with them.

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh soooo true! This list is accurate, even if I kind of like the Darkling.. he is a jerk that is 100% for sure BUT I really loathe Mal. MAL IS AWFUL and I am sorry if you like him but I found his character offensive/jerkish. And Holden was totally gag worthy XD haha, good list :). Have a wonderful day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

