Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

BlueLilyBlue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Published by Scholastic Inc. on December 29, 2015

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Pages: 391 Format: Paperback Source: Purchased

4.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

There are a few spoilers for The Raven Cycle below. Proceed at your own risk.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.

Mothers can disappear.

Visions can mislead.

Certainties can unravel.

At this point Stiefvater’s work is just making me hyperventilate and flail so excuse my extremely random thoughts on this one!!!!! Blue Lily, Lily Blue might have ruined my life. The story, the characters, the strange: all of it has been constantly on my mind. It’s just so darn good! Blue’s mother is still missing and school is about to begin anew when we return to our motley crew. The search for Glendower continues and three sleepers are waiting to be awoken. What could possibly go wrong?

The answer to that: EVERYTHING! There are new arrivals with Professor Mallory flying in from the United Kingdom and a new Latin teacher, bride in tow.  More people in the path and quest for Glendower will only bring about complications and distractions which Blue and her raven boys have plenty to deal with already. Without Maura, Calla and Persephone are out of sorts, missing their third member. Nothing will go to plan, will it?

Not to mention the shifting friendships and relationships between Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah. I will ship everyone together at once, all living happily ever after. What? Is this not how its going to end? I love love loved the development between Ronan and Adam. They feel apart, my little magicians, and they’ve bonded over it.  Plus Blue and Gansey will be the death of me. So much tension! And my dear Noah is making me worried. How does one handle all the feels!?!

Overall Maggie Stiefvater’s Blue Lily, Lily Blue was another amazing work of fantasy and fiction set in the Virginian hills. This series has consumed me; body and soul. I’ve been constantly thinking about these books since finishing, wishing to reread them immediately. The Raven King cannot come soon enough and everyone should pick these up to immerse themselves in the awesomeness that is the The Raven Cycle!

Favorite Quotes

  1. Humans were so circular; they lived the same slow cycles of joy and misery over and over, never learning. Every lesson in the universe had to be taught billions of times, and it never stuck.
  2. “Don’t tell the others,” Gansey said.
    “I’m dead,” Noah replied, “not stupid.”
  3. He left bloody fingerprints on the rock, but there was something satisfying about that.
    I was here. I exist. I’m alive, because I bleed.
  4. “Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.
    She said, “I just want to pretend. I want to pretend that I could.”
  5. But what she didn’t realize about Blue and her boys was that they were all in love with one another. She was no less obsessed with them than they were with her, or one another, analyzing every conversation and gesture, drawing out every joke into a longer and longer running gag, spending each moment either with one another or thinking about when next they would be with one another. Blue was perfectly aware that it was possible to have a friendship that wasn’t all-encompassing, that wasn’t blinding, deafening, maddening, quickening. It was just that now that she’d had this kind, she didn’t want the other.

So, how do you feel about Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater? Are you at all prepared for what The Raven King will bring? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I loved this book so much! It was actually my favorite of the series 😀 and that cover. Oh, the cover. I still enjoy it every time I look at it. Thanks for including quotes; they inspired me to reread the book ^_^ so glad you liked this one!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Like

Leave a Reply

