Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

Top 5 Wednesday image

 Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  2. Six of Crows
  3. The Weight of Feathers
  4. The Wrath & The Dawn
  5. Tomb of the Golden Bird

That moment when you finish a book that has completely consumed your being and left you feeling empty inside can be one of despair, anger, pain, and suffering. It is so hard to overcome leaving any book you pick up feeling not worthy of the time. Here are five books that more or less destroyed me.

First up is none other than Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I picked it up at the midnight release and did not sleep until i finished reading. Obviously I was a complete mess. Not just for the book itself, but for the end of an era. I was emotionally and physically drained by it. Even that epilogue left me lost.

Six of Crows was a book that just left me so out of sorts. It was phenomenal and that ending was a kick to the gut. The only thing I wanted to read after that was Six of Crows again. The characters, the plot, the setting, just immerse me in this world forever. I’m listening to it on audiobook now and I have the same feeling of it being the only thing that matters.

I spent the last fifty to a hundred pages of The Weight of Feathers just sobbing. This book hit a nerve and I was just so invested and concerned. It was so beautifully written that it was hard to get into another story. Talk about an emotionally draining book. I was a wreck!

The Wrath & The Dawn sucked me into the lives of Shahrzad and Khalid and I didn’t want to pick up another book that couldn’t match the lush detail and burgeoning romance that was present in this story.  Plus that ending just had me aching for the second book.

It’s hard when you come to the end of a series. With Tomb of a Golden Bird by Elizabeth Peters, it was like leaving friends. The last book chronologically in the Amelia Peabody series was the awful realization of no more stories of archaeology and mystery. It crushed me and I always want to pick this series back up.

So those were my Top 5 Biggest Book Hangovers? Tell me your Top 5 in the comments below and check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

