Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  2. Six of Crows
  3. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief
  4. The Raven Cycle
  5. Neverwhere

Rainy day reads can really be anything but for me they are usually books that are comforting and feel like home. Ones that I can dive back into regardless of what is on my mind. Ones that I just want to curl back up with and live in that world for a bit.

There will be no surprise that Harry Potter pops up on this list and Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite of the series. I’ve reread this one so many times and we really get to explore the different parts of the wizarding world in this one. More time in Diagon Alley and Hogsmeade plus the introduction of the Marauders. Such fun!

I’d be remiss to not mention a Leigh Bardugo book and I’m going with Six of Crows. This world is so vast and the characters so varied. It hasn’t been out a year yet and I’ve already reread it. The Grisha world is somewhere I can go back to time and time again and never tire of it.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief just for all of the nostalgia purposes. Rick Riordan’s writing is so freaking funny and Percy discovering who he is and this whole new world is always a joy. Plus plenty of Greek mythology, gods, and goddesses to go around.

A series that I’ve just recently read and would love to dive back into immediately is The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I just love all of these characters so much and want to visit Cabeswater as much as possible. I’m totally not prepared for The Raven King in a few weeks but I need to know how it all ends.

I picked Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman but the rest of his books could also be on this list. He creates such magical stories with vivid descriptions and brilliant writing. A little bit dark, a little big whimsical, a little bit creepy. It’s all done so well. Plus, what could be better then enjoying a novel with different worlds within are own?

While pretty much any book for me can be a rainy day read I went with some of the books I just love to immerse myself in. Do you have any books that are a must read when raindrops fall from the sky? Let me know in the comments below and check back next week for another Top 5 Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads

Leave a Reply

