Classic of the Month: The Eve of St. Agnes

EveofStAgnesThe Eve of St. Agnes by John Keats

Published by Penguin Classics on February 26, 2015

Genres: Fiction, Poetry, Classics, Romance

Pages: 64 Format: Paperback Source: Purchased

4/5 Stars

Image Credit: Goodreads

The Romantic poet’s most lyrical, enchanting verse on myth, sensuality, dreams, and superstition. 

This Little Black Classic collects five of John Keats’ poems: The Eve of St. Agnes, La Belle Dame sans Merci. A Ballad, Lamia, Ode to Psyche, and Ode on a Grecian Urn. It’s full of gorgeous prose, romantic leanings, and vivid imagery.

When I Discovered This Classic

John Keats is a poet we hear about so often but I had never actually sat down to read any of his work before. When the Little Black Classics were released I thought it was the perfect time to read a selection of his poems. Keats weaves words with such eloquent design and I’m glad I picked it up for Classic of the Month.

Why I Chose To Read It

I’ve been reading so much lately and these small little collections are the perfect way to fit in reading a classic each month. Plus I’ve always been fascinated by Keats.

What Makes It A Classic

For me, it was the beauty of the writing. It paints such a vivid and emotional picture that even within the format of poetry a much wider story is being told.

What I Thought Of This Classic

I quite enjoyed Keats’ The Eve of St. Agnes. The writing flows so beautifully across the page. I could hear the rhythm of it as I read each line and it immerses the reader in the tale. The use of myth was excellent and was easy to understand and connect with. I still don’t know if poetry will ever be my thing but I believe I’m getting better at comprehension. I could never write with such mastery of the English language.

Will It Stay A Classic

Keats’ works will definitely remain classics for their lasting impact on romance and in poetry. His writing stands apart and will continue to inspire future generations.

Who I’d Recommend It To

Anyone with an interest in poetry should definitely read Keats. I feel like his works are a good starting point. Popular and yet written with such immense talent.

Since this year I am partaking in the 2016 Classics Challenge run by Stacey at PrettyBooks, I thought I’d answer the questions she sets out.

So, have you read any of John Keats works? Surprisingly I had never read them in school. Any recommendations for poetry or future Classics of the Month? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

