Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Les Miserables
  2. Lord of the Rings
  3. Outlander
  4. Moby Dick
  5. The Complete Sherlock Holmes

When it comes to intimidating books I feel like length is the most likely culprit for my fear. Each and every single one of my Top 5 is pretty much massive. I mean knock someone out with one wack massive. The type of book you can substitute in for weights as you’re lifting. A book so big it’s uncomfortable to hold in one’s hands while reading.

Also part of the problem is that all five of these titles are well known with stories that you hear so frequently about. It makes them hard to get into when I already know what’s coming. Especially with all sorts of movies and television shows bringing them to life on screen.

Another issue is writing style. With the exception of Outlander all of these books were written a long time ago, the author dead and gone. Some are just too heavy with detail describing inane things for page upon page. Others are just dragging with slow plot and basic premises. Yet, I still feel like I need to read them.

I’ve tried to read Lord of the Rings before and couldn’t get past like a hundred pages. There are a few stories in The Complete Sherlock Holmes that I’ve read but I just haven’t gotten to the rest. Les Miserables is just daunting to look at and Moby Dick eye’s me from my shelf. Outlander has like ten books in the series all around 1000 pages each. How much time would I need to invest to finish them?

So, what are your Top 5: Books You’re Intimidated By? What makes you nervous about them? Let me know in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

  1. Sherlock Holmes books are awesome. I have the complete collection as an audio series.

    I read Lord of the Rings, just so I could say I read it. My overall opinion: It was a decent read, but I don’t get the absolute fervor with which some people regard it.

    Like

  2. I’ve got the Complete Sherlock Holmes book (more like double brick), I’ve read like a third of it by now and I’m so glad I did 😀
    I’ve also listened to some of the stories – it’s my way to deal with some harder reads or simply a way to keep my mind busy when I’m doing something simple, but hand-consuming 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

