Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. My Faire Lady
  2. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
  3. Along for the Ride
  4. Girl at Sea
  5. Summer Days & Summer Nights

This week is all about those summer reads! I decided to interpret this as books that remind me of the season and yet all five ended up being set in the summer too. All of them make me think happy thoughts about the sun beating down and enjoying the lovely weather. I’m getting excited for it already!

First up is My Faire Lady by Laura Wettersten which is all about a girl working at a renaissance faire and all the shenanigans that take place. Honestly this book speaks to me on so many levels and just makes me want to attend all the faires and roam around in medieval garb.

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson takes the two MCs across the country in a whirlwind road trip that ends up being an emotional rollercoaster. This is the only book I’ve read from her but I love it so much and just want to take all the trips when thinking about it. Looking forward to her new release as well.

My first Sarah Dessen book, Along for the Ride, brings the reader to boardwalks and bike parks exploring relationships with family, friends, and more. I love how it focuses on the main character getting out of her comfort zone and doing new things over the summer period. Plus its such a fun read.

One of my favorite Maureen Johnson books just happens to be Girl at Sea where the MC ends up stuck on a boat in the middle of the Mediterranean with her father and his explorer team for the summer. I love the adventure of it, the discovery. I mean who wouldn’t want to bask in the sun on a boat?

Last on my list is Summer Days & Summer Nights, a short story collection, with twelve authors and edited by Stephanie Perkins. Now I haven’t read this one yet but I am absolutely looking forward to picking it up, laying outside, and turning the pages with the sun shining down on me.

Interestingly enough all five of these are contemporary titles and now I just want to reread them again. So, what are some of your favorite summer reads? Let me know! I’d love some recommendations.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

