Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

RavenKingThe Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Published by Scholastic Press on April 26, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Pages: 438 Format: Hardcover Source: Purchased

4.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey…and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

Nooooo! This isn’t the end, right? I really do not handle series endings well and since I’ve been so completely consumed by this one for the past couple months I’m taking it especially hard. With the culmination of The Raven Cycle, Maggie Stiefvater crafts a satisfying conclusion filled with twists, turns, and all of the feels for the crew in The Raven King.

Oh my precious babies! The character development in The Raven Cycle has been excellent from start to finish. Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and even Noah come such a long way in these four books and I could not have asked for more when it comes to them. Their lives are all so interconnected and I loved their honesty with each other in this one. Ronan will always be my favorite though.

The final stage of the quest for Glendower ramped up as darkness begins to seep into Henrietta. With threats coming from all sides, even from within, the crew does whatever it takes, making hard choices to restore order to their town. There were some absolutely terrifying moments in this book and I stopped reading at one point knowing I was going to have nightmares from it. (I’m a bit of a scaredy cat.)

When it comes to the feels Stiefvater doesn’t pull any punches and hit the reader straight in the heart. I’m always bracing for the worst when it comes to finales and the tension was so high. Plenty of tears were shed. Side note: my bookstore has this series shelved as romance which I find so funny. Finally the inklings of actual relationships take shape four books in.

While I adored this book, I did have a couple of nitpicks along the way. I felt like the ending was rushed and it all happened way to quickly. It could be I just wasn’t ready for the series to be over. I was also looking for more development and closure for the side characters. They kind of got left by the wayside.

Overall The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater was an excellent addition to this series and brought the whole story full circle. My heart ran the gamut of emotions and these characters have found a special place in my soul. I definitely recommend these books to everyone (as my coworkers can certainly attest) and cannot wait to return to these pages time and time again.

So, how did you feel about The Raven King? Did it meet your expectations? How much are you going to miss the Raven gang? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. It was such a hard choice when deciding on my giveaway prize out of this or The Island but since I haven’t begun The Raven Cycle series yet I thought it’d be best to stick with a book I can get into straight away. I’m glad you loved the final book in the series and all these positive reviews have me psyched about reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

