Free Comic Book Day ~ 2016

image

The first Saturday of May has come and gone and so too has Free Comic Book Day! This yearly event takes place across the globe at independent comic book stores where publishers sponsor preview issues of their upcoming work and bring more attention to small businesses!

This was my fifth time participating in FCBD and it was amazing as always. I’m lucky to have an excellent comic book shop nearby in Carol & John’s Comics and they always put on the best events for their customers. They actually have two events, one a midnight release on Friday and an all day event on Saturday but I’ve done the evening one for the past three years.

People start lining up pretty darn early and I met my coworker, her husband, and a friend at around 9 pm. Of course so many people are decked out in all variations of cosplay. Characters from the giants like Star Wars, Marvel, and DC to the little known indies and heroes. Even the Ghostbusters show up every  year. It’s a great time to people watch and chat about all the amazing comics that are being put out.

image

At 10 pm, the Artist Alley opens up with 24 local artists doing free sketches and selling their own pieces. There was also a themed art show with original pieces and prints for purchase. I went a little crazy on buying art this year. I’m just so fascinated by the medium and have no talent in it but I love supporting them. Clearly I went a bit overboard. Last year I only got two.

I always try to buy at least one trade paperback at their events even though the store is full to the brim with people. This year I went with Gotham Academy since I’ve been obsessed with this series immediately upon reading. Also had to pick up the annual lithograph celebrating the event.

Once Midnight hits the comic line begins to move and it only took about thirty minutes for us to get through. There was a great selection this year and hopefully I’ll get through all of them soon. My favorite has to be the Serenity short story in the Dark Horse preview. It totally made me cry.

image

So did you head out to your local shop for Free Comic Book Day this year? Did you have a highlight from your event? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

