Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom

“Waiting on” Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that highlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

CrookedKingdomCrooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Series: Six of Crows #2

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.

Expected Date: September 27, 2016

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.


If I haven’t made myself clear yet, let me just give a quick reminder that I am totally in love with everything Leigh Bardugo writes, so it’s not surprising Crooked Kingdom would pop up in a Waiting on Wednesday. This one is my most anticipated read of 2016 and I know it will be worth the wait.

I’m excited to dive deeper into these complex characters and I need answers to all my lingering questions. I’m actually glad this is just a duology because the thought of waiting another year for a conclusion fills me with dread.

Having read the first four chapters from the sampler at BEA/BookCon, I can attest that Leigh picks up right where she left off, weaving a wicked story that will definitely leave me a complete mess come September.

So who is ridiculously excited for the release of Crooked Kingdom and if you haven’t picked up Six of Crows yet, what are you waiting for?

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Crooked Kingdom

  1. Oh, yes, what a great feeling to be super exited for a book. While I adore Bardugo’s characters and writing style and was blown away by the way she ended Six of Crows, I kinda can’t state caper stories, so Six of Crows wasn’t my favorite. I really want to read more about the SOC characters and they’re amazingly realized world, so I’m hopeful the next book won’t be as Oceans 11-ish as the first book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

