Top 5 Wednesday: Book Theme Songs

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Harry Potter/Beside You
  2. The Hunger Games/crushcrushcrush
  3. Six of Crows/Sinister Kid
  4. The Raven Cycle/Drive
  5. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour/High of 75

Yes!!! A Top 5 Wednesday focusing on songs that you associate with books or vice versa. Music often evokes the same emotions and storytelling as literature does and there is just so much out there to compare. Here are a bunch that highlight some of my favorite stories and songs.

When your tears are spent on your last pretense
And your tired eyes refuse to close and sleep in your defense.
When it’s in your spine like you’ve walked for miles
And the only thing you want is just to be still for a while.

When you spend such a long time in the Harry Potter fandom, you will inevitably watch quite a few fanvids on Youtube.  This is how I ended up discovering Beside You by Marianas Trench and now it will forever be linked with my favorite book series. Harry is never truly alone, always having someone there to help or guide him, and this song just fits perfectly.

They taped over your mouth
Scribbled out the truth with their lies
You little spies 

Paramore’s crushcrushcrush has always stood out in my mind when it comes to The Hunger Games series as a whole. Hayley Williams’ vocal power and the band’s alternative edge just remind me of rebellion and angst. Plus these lyrics just scream certain Mockingjay moments to me.

Well, the crooks are out
And the streets are gray
You know I wouldn’t have it
Any other way

Leigh Bardugo is the reason I identify The Black Keys’ Sinister Kid with Six of Crows. She’s talked about it frequently when it comes to this book and Kaz especially. Every lyric drips with the feel of her writing and I love it so much. I’d also recommend listening to the entire Six of Crows playlist on Spotify. It is absolutely amazing!

All we do is drive
All we do is think about the feelings that we hide
All we do is sit in silence waiting for a sign
Sick and full of pride
All we do is drive

If Drive by Halsey doesn’t scream The Raven Cycle, I don’t know what does. Honestly it’s not even just the Bluesey feels, Pynch feels, or Noah feels. It truly encompasses the whole story. So much of these books are spent driving around and keeping secrets from each other. Drive just resonates so well with these characters.

And now I’m sunny with a High
of 75
Since You took my heavy heart
And made it light
And its funny how you find
You enjoy your life
When you’re happy to be alive

High of 75 by Relient K just reminds me so much of my teenage years driving around during the summer. It was our go to music and that’s why I associate it with Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour so much. Road trips, adventures, making memories. Plus that book has such a focus on playlists to begin with.

Well I had such a great time sharing some of the songs I associate with books! So, what are your Top 5 Book Theme Songs? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

