Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

ACOMAFA Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Published by Bloomsbury Childrens on May 3, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 624 Format: Hardcover Source: Gift

5/5 Stars

Images and Description Credit: Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Forgive me, I’m not sure I can form proper thoughts after finishing A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Love does not seem like strong enough a word to describe my feelings here. Prythian is trying to rebuild after Amarantha’s terror-filled reign; Feyre, Tamlin, and the rest trying to move past what they endured and yet darker threats are on the horizon. So much took place within these pages but I just want to read it again.

I had very mixed feelings about A Court of Thorns and Roses and was worried the series would continue in the same fashion. Thank goodness that was not the case! Maas completely blew my mind with this one in all aspects of storytelling, setting, and characters. Her writing seemed to expand exponentially, portraying beauty and suffering with such ease.

In ACOTAR we only got to explore a small portion of the vast Fae world and mortal lands. While we do return to the Spring Court in ACOMAF, we get to discover both the Night Court, from Velaris to the Illyrian fighting camps, and Summer Court with its capital at Adriata. The lush descriptions of these locales make them leap off the page making me finally fall in love with this world.

Feyre finds herself all over again in this one after becoming one of the Fae, sussing out her powers, and putting the pieces of her human heart back together. It takes time to heal, and in the end Feyre is better off for it. Now to Rhysand, High Lord of the NIght Court, my love and dreamer. Getting to see him open, honest, and vulnerable with the people he cares about was the greatest joy of this book.

And the Dream Team! Amren, mysterious and intense, Mor, fierce and free, Cassian, charismatic and cocky, and Azriel, strong and silent. I love all of them so so much and they were the perfect addition to this story. The bond between all of them was brilliant and endearing. Honestly I want books for each of them. I even enjoyed the character development with Feyre’s sisters, Nesta and Elain.

Maas certainly impressed me across the board on this one especially her handling of difficult topics. Feyre, Tamlin, and Rhysand all experienced true horrors by Amarantha’s hands and thankfully this wasn’t swept under the rug. The struggle to come to terms with this suffering, the PTSD, was complex yet fit perfectly for each character. She also doesn’t shy away when it comes to intimacy and there are quite a few high detailed, steamy scenes.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas has secured a place within my favorites and completely altered my opinion of her writing and these characters. Everything about this book was excellent and I tried as hard as possible to write my review without spoiling this epic adventure. I’ll be spending eternity in the Night Court, if you want to find me. I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! Hope you do too!

So have you read A Court of Mist and Fury yet? How did it compare to the first installment for you? Will we have to fight over Rhysand? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I feel like we had the same opinion on this series. I liked the first book but didn’t love it, but then I was totally blown away by this second one! I was never quite convinced by Tamlin and Feyre’s relationship, but I absolutely love her and Rhysand together, and all of the new characters were absolutely amazing. Their friendships were so heart warming, and I really can’t wait for the next book.
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

