Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Nikolai
  2. Avery
  3. Kash
  4. Rhysand
  5. William

This Top 5 Wednesday is all about our favorite character names! It was actually hard to narrow it down to just five but there were a couple that I knew were must haves when I first glimpsed the prompt. Names can really make or break a character and these five are all winners to me!

Ever since I started reading Russian inspired literature I have been obsessed with the name Nikolai. I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! Plus a certain privateer and prince goes by that name and now a powerful enchanter that can weave fabric and machinery. Please give me all the book recommendations that have a Nikolai in it.

For the longest time I loved the name Avery for a character and hadn’t read it in a book until The Conspiracy of Us. Whenever NaNoWriMo comes around this name is always at the forefront of my mind. I’ve always thought it was so unique and cool.

Next up was a little discovery in The Girl from Everywhere with Kashmir or Kash for short. While it’s definitely an amazing name, I think it has a lot to do with how swoony and charismatic his character was. I do enjoy Kaz too so maybe it is the name.

If you couldn’t tell how deeply I’ve fallen in love with A Court of Mist and Fury, the name Rbysand on this list may give it away. This 100% has to do with the character but I also like the shortened version Rhy in the Shades of Magic series.

An oldie for me has always been the name William. It reminds me of knights and medieval times. I tend to use this one frequently while writing and it’s the most common out of all my picks. Plus it doesn’t hurt that the one and only Will Herondale has the name. He’s so dreamy!

So, what are some of your favorite character names? I feel like I left out a lot of wonderful ones by only choosing five, but let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

  1. Nikolai! I love that name. I really love the name Rhys in general. My husband and I actually have chosen that for a middle name whenever we start to have kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

