The Crystal Tour: Air Awakens & Living that Library Life

CT-Banner-2

With the release of Crystal Crowned almost upon us, it’s time to celebrate this wonderful series that Elise Kova has created. If you didn’t already know, it’s a YA Fantasy series consisting of five books: Air Awakens, Fire Falling, Earth’s End, Water’s Wrath, and Crystal Crowned.

And what better way to highlight these beautiful books then with a massive blog and review tour organized by the author herself running from June 9 through July 12. Since I adore this series so much, I’m going to be doing a post inspired by each book. So let’s have some fun!

I was first pulled into the Air Awakens series by lots of hype on Twitter but what really sold me was that Vhalla, the main character, was a library apprentice. With just this little bit of information I was already connected to the story. Vhalla and I share a common bond, you see, the two of us relying on the written word not only as a passion but as a form of employment. That’s why I’m sharing my library journey with you today!

I grew up a reader so I spent quite a lot of time in the library as a child. Luckily it was just a short block away, only five houses down to be exact. I’ve had the same hometown library since the age of like 5 but the departments still remain in the same locations even though shelves have swapped spots and there has been a renovation or two over the years. I feel as if it has changed and grown just as I have.

Think of all the hours I sat in the Children’s section or browsing the Teen bookshelves. I wonder over the years how many materials I’ve checked out. It wasn’t always about the books either. There was many a girl scout puppet show or city soccer meeting attended within those walls. DiscoveryWorks provided countless moments of entertainment learning about science, math, etc. Don’t be fooled, there’s never a dull moment in the library.

In college most of my library time focused on research. Finding the right book for the right paper or searching literary journals. There were a bunch of late nights writing papers that would haunt my dreams. I even had a plan of action to escape the Rare Books Room if the fire suppressor was triggered. Even abroad the library became a comforting presence for me. Especially since you didn’t have to buy books for class.

I had never really thought about working in a library when I went to college. Or even after it for that matter. I was so focused on using my degree in history. Clearly that didn’t work out, but my passion for books still burned eternal and my library associate position has been such a blessing. It’s opened my eyes to the other side of the curtain. All the planning and effort put into every program, the creativity behind decorations, deciding on what to purchase for a collection.

A library can mean many things to many different people. It can be a place to discover new books, watch that movie missed in theaters, type up a paper for class, research local history, and learn something new. The building provides a roof over patrons’ shoulders, a safe space to get away from the world. It is at times a quiet retreat and at others a bustling hub.

For me, it’s all of those things and so many more. I’m able to share my passions with the masses and help them find what they need. I get to share my knowledge but also learn in return. I love just being surrounded by books and being able to talk about what I’m currently reading. I enjoy convincing people to read authors and series that I adore. It’s the same reason I’m a blogger, to connect and share my love of literature with the world!


23127048About Air Awakens

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

Check out my review HERE!

Purchase Links


View More: http://radred.pass.us/joseph-wedding-2015-jpegAbout the Author

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she s not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media. She is the author of the Air Awakens Series as well as the upcoming Loom Saga (Keymaster, 2017).


Giveaway

With the culmination of the series, Elise is being exceedingly generous with a massive giveaway with multiple prize packs.

  • Grand Prize – Complete set of first edition Air Awakens hardcovers signed by Elise Kova (Author), Monica Wanat (Editor), and Merilliza Chan (Cover Artist), plus a swag pack
  • First Runner Up – Complete set of Air Awakens paperbacks plus a swag pack
  • Second/Third Runner Up – Complete set of signed Air Awakens ebooks
  • 4 Air Awakens complete bookmark sets

Enter Here


Check back in for my posts on Fire Falling, Earth’s End, and Water’s Wrath as well as my review of Crystal Crowned. Plus let me know your thoughts and experiences with libraries in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “The Crystal Tour: Air Awakens & Living that Library Life

  1. Pingback: The Crystal Tour: Fire Falling & Flame Wielders in Pop Culture | Hopeful Reads

  2. Pingback: The Crystal Tour: Earth’s End & The Treehouse Dream | Hopeful Reads

  3. Pingback: ARC Review: Crystal Crowned by Elise Kova | Hopeful Reads

  4. Pingback: The Crystal Tour: Water’s Wrath & On The Waterfront | Hopeful Reads

Leave a Reply

