Thoughts on eBooks ~ Discussion

image

I’m bringing you my thoughts and a little discussion on eBooks today!

For the longest time reading to me meant holding a physical book in my hands. I could not wrap my head around wanting to read off devices. The flat screen, the bright back lighting. It didn’t appeal to me at all. I understood the advantages, but it still didn’t draw me in. I had a one track mind when it came to reading. Why would I read an eBook when I could read a physical book?

It wasn’t until I started discovering short novellas only accessible as eBooks that I began to read them.Even then I was mostly using my computer browser to consume those titles. Blogging was the true reason my iPad was finally used for more than just games and internet access. With sites like NetGalley and Edelweiss I can easily read advanced copies of upcoming releases and give feedback.

My eBook reading is still minimal, but I actually enjoy doing it. It feels like I’m reading faster since I’m turning the digital pages more frequently. Plus it doesn’t hurt my eyes which always happens with long reading on computers. It does make for easier travel without physical books to lug around and I don’t have to worry about damaging my pristine copies.

When it comes to buying eBooks though I’m still very much on the fence about it. I’m all for downloading them when they are free and occasionally buying one that I cannot get anywhere else. If I’m super impatient for my physical copy I might download the eBook if the price is right. I can’t justify spending just as much money on a digital copy than a paperback though.

My opinion on eBooks has definitely grown over time but I still prefer reading physical copies. There’s just something about holding a book in my hands and turning each page. eBooks provide a nice shake up though and I love having access to a more extensive selection at the drop of a hat. Reading is reading is reading is reading and I cannot get enough of it.


Questions for Discussion

  • Do you frequently read eBooks?
  • How do you feel about owning digital editions?
  • What is your favorite thing about eBooks?
  • Do you request a lot of eARCs?
  • Would you rather read an eBook or a physical copy?
  • Do you use the library for eBook access?

Thanks for reading my eBook ramblings and let me know your own thoughts on digital editions in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on eBooks ~ Discussion

  1. This is a great post! I love my kindle but if I could, I would always get the print version. I love picking up a book and finding the old train ticket I’d used as a bookmark, bits of sand stuck in the binding or a coffee smudge 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: End of Year Survey ~ 2016 | Hopeful Reads

  3. I love eBooks! Although you wouldn’t have heard me say that a few years ago…

    My husband bought me a kindle just after we had our son (no backlights back then). I wasn’t sure if I would like not reading a physical book, but I tell you what: a kindle is much easier to hold/put down for a minute when you’re rocking and feeding a baby at three in the morning. Since then, I rarely ever read physical books. I find it nice how light my kindle is, how well it fits in my purse, and how ALL my books are right there with me.

    To answer your questions (in order):
    I read eBooks almost exclusively. I also use my kindle to read submissions to the publishing press I work for.

    I have no issue with owning digital editions. There are some things like guides and thesaurus that will just ALWAYS be easier to use when physical (being able to flip back and forth to informational pages is nice).

    My favorite thing about eBooks is…I guess their ease of transport/use. Also, I really like that I can make font/spacing bigger.

    I don’t request a lot of ARCs/eARCs.

    I’d rather read an eBook.

    I LOVE using my library’s access to Overdrive for eBooks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

