Top 5 Wednesday: Settings I Want to See More Of

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Steampunk
  2. Underwater
  3. Space Station
  4. Ancient Egypt
  5. Lake of the Ozarks

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is all about those settings I want to see more of in literature. I typically read a lot of YA and Fantasy but often times the settings are all of a similar nature. These five settings are ones that I find super interesting and yet I don’t see or read enough of them.

Up first is the steampunk setting. I’ve always been fascinated by steampunk especially when it comes to cosplay and every book I’ve read with steam powered SciFi was just amazing. The mix of old and new technologies is just so aesthetically pleasing. Please recommend your favorite books with steampunk settings in the comments below.

When it comes to underwater settings I’m really not talking about mermaids. I just want civilizations living underneath the surface. Building vast cities beneath the waves just appeals to me. So like an Atlantis feel, but real. I really enjoyed Ally Condie’s Atlantia and would like more books like that one.

So who doesn’t like space? Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century inspired my desire to live on a space station and I feel like we haven’t capitalized on the gold that was that movie. Where are all the books set on space stations? Branching out to the unknown is always a good selling point. At least The Illuminae Files are filling this hole.

One of my favorite history topics is Ancient Egypt and I just want all the books to be set there. With such an intriguing and unique culture, there should be plenty of stories to tell. Plus an author could take it in so many directions. Am I missing quality stories set here? If so please leave recommendations.

Now the Lake of the Ozarks is really just a personal one for me. It’s one of my favorite places in the world and I would love to see books set there. I’ve rewritten a story twice for NaNoWriMo that is set there and I just keep coming back to it. I don’t even know if there are books out there that have this setting.

So those are my Top 5 Settings I Want to See More Of in books. Do you have any settings that you’d like to see? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Settings I Want to See More Of

  1. I would love to see more steampunk as well! I was really surprised to find that “Stormdancer” by Jay Kristoff had steampunk themes and I ended up loving it. There are chainsaw katanas, do I need to say more? haha 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes to everything Zenon related. I wanted to be her growing up sooo bad. I’d really love to read more books set in Ancient Egypt, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

