Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside My Comfort Zone

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. All the Light We Cannot See
  2. The Butterfly Mosque
  3. The Unexpected Everything
  4. Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection
  5. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is all about my favorite books outside my comfort zone. The majority of books I read are Young Adult and Fantasy so there is a lot that I don’t read frequently. I pulled from a whole slew of different categories and genres for this one so this list has a bit of everything.

First up is All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. While I have my degree in History, I don’t read a ton of historical fiction especially in the adult section. This book was so compelling though, crossing continents and connecting the characters. Such a well written, intense story full of emotion. It’s a must read!

Next up is G. Willow Wilson’s The Butterfly Mosque which tells the story of her life and embracing the Muslim world. I’m not big on memoirs but I would highly recommend everyone read this one. It was an eye opening narrative and Wilson’s writing is exquisitely honest and beautiful.

I’ve been trying to branch out to more contemporaries and this year’s favorite is The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. She always hits the right notes with fun adventure and emotional turmoil. The characters were just so well rounded and I loved all the dog stuff in this one.

When it comes to comics I read mostly superhero titles but Step Aside, Pops: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection was completely different. Humorous takes on history, literature, and pop culture with hilarious art and even funnier commentary. Kate Beaton makes the norm so much more entertaining.

The last one is a lifestyle book in The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. I really don’t read any books like this but it was strangely intriguing and even funny. It may not have helped me too much, but I did get rid of a ton of clothes and I’ve been much better about buying certain items.

So those are my Top 5 Books Outside My Comfort Zone. Let me know some of yours in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside My Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

