Classic of the Month: The Stranger by Albert Camus

TheStrangerThe Stranger by Albert Camus

Published by Vintage International on March 28, 1989

Genres: Adult, Fiction, Classics, Philosophical

Pages: 123 Format: Paperback Source: Library

2.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Through the story of an ordinary man unwittingly drawn into a senseless murder on an Algerian beach, Camus explored what he termed “the nakedness of man faced with the absurd.” First published in English in 1946; now in a new translation by Matthew Ward.


Translated from the original French, The Stranger by Albert Camus takes on the story of Meursault who has just suffered the loss of his mother and feels little emotion after her death. Set in two parts, Camus explores apathy and how it appears to the outside world through the build up to and aftermath of a murder.

When I Discovered This Classic

I heard about The Stranger last month from a couple coworkers who’d recently read it and thought it sounded interesting.

Why I Chose To Read It

Surprise! I grabbed another short one. I have a tendency to wait until the last minute for classics and then need a quick read to finish before the end of the month. I really need to get to some meatier classics soon.

What Makes It A Classic

Albert Camus’ The Stranger is noted as a classic for its commentary on apathy as well as the author’s philosophy on the absurd and existentialism. It also provides representation of how ineffective a justice system can be. Plus Algeria is not the most common setting.

What I Thought Of This Classic

I honestly wasn’t a big fan of this one. The Stranger just didn’t resonate with me and I had no concern for the story or the characters. It just felt “meh” and there was very little substance to the whole narrative. Mersault seemed more than apathetic, more like a sociopath if you will. I mean the guy kills someone and has no response to it. Overall just not a book for me.

Will It Stay A Classic

The Stranger will of course be staying a classic. I feel like most classics don’t change over time and since this is more philosophical I don’t see it going away anytime soon.

Who I’d Recommend It To

I’d recommend this to those who like literary fiction or anyone looking for a translated work.

So have you read The Stranger by Albert Camus? What did you think of this philosophical classic? Let me know in the comments below!

Since this year I am partaking in the 2016 Classics Challenge run by Stacey at PrettyBooks, I thought I’d answer the questions she sets out.

2 thoughts on “Classic of the Month: The Stranger by Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

