Comic Round Up: Princesses, Pirates, and Spies, Oh My!

It has been a ridiculously long time since I reviewed some comics and graphic novels on the blog so I’m remedying that today before it gets anymore out of hand. Here we go!

Princeless

By Jeremy Whitley

Published by Action Lab Entertainment

5/5 Stars

My love for this series knows no bounds!!! I fully reviewed the first installment of Princeless a while back and have now read every volume currently available. Following runaway princess Adrienne on her adventures to save her sisters has been such a treat and I just adore how every volume continues to flip gender norms on their heads. I also loved the introduction of Raven and her offshoot girl crew as well. The pages are full of dragons and pirates, swordfights and ships. The world continues to expand and new emotion and conflict can be found at every turn. Highly Recommend!

DC & Vertigo

Grayson3Grayson Vol.3: Nemesis by Tom King and Tim Seeley

Published by DC on May 17, 2016

Pages: 160 Format: Paperback Source: Library

4.5/5 Stars

In this collection, Grayson faces some of his most difficult challenges! Not only must he take on Lex Luthor, and risks losing his position with Spyral, but Dick finds that in order to save Agent 1 he must face off with… himself! And who is the mysterious shadow leader behind Spyral, and what does he want with Dick? The super-spy finds himself in a clandestine hunt for the true identity of Agent Zero!

While I’ve struggled to love Grayson as much as the Nightwing comics, this one definitely swung me in the right direction. Mostly for all the BatFam interactions. That’s my bread and butter in the DC Universe and it really got my emotions. This one also provided much humor as Dick had to fight himself and can I just say two Dick Graysons are always better than one.


Fairest1Fairest Vol. 1: Wide Awake by Tom King and Tim Seeley

Published by Vertigo on November 21, 2012

Pages: 160 Format: Paperback Source: Purchased

4.5/5 Stars

FAIREST explores the secret histories of Sleeping Beauty, Rapunzel, Cinderella, The Snow Queen, Thumbelina, Snow White, Rose Red and others.The first 6-issue tale follows the misadventures of Briar Rose immediately after the events of FABLES #107(collected in Fables Volume 16: Super Team), in which she was stolen away by the goblin army. Following this first collection, Willingham will serve as a consultant on all story arcs and introduce new writers from other mediums to the FABLES mythos.

I’ve been working my way through Fables and have now reached the point where I can start picking up Fairest. I’ve got to say I really loved this first one. Discovering what happened to Briar Rose after the goblin army whisked her away was a grand old time and I enjoyed how they wove the Snow Queen back into the story. Willingham always seems to twist fairytales in the most excellent ways.


RobinWarRobin War 

Published by DC on April 13, 2016

Pages: 256 Format: Hardcover Source: Library

4/5 Stars

It’s Robins vs. cops! Robins vs. Robins! Robins vs. Batman! Robins vs. the Court of Owls‽

Collecting: Robin War 1-2, Grayson 15, Detective Comics 47, We Are Robin… 7, Robin: Son of Batman 7, Gotham Academy 13, Red Hood/Arsenal 7, & Teen Titans 15

For the most part I stick to Batgirl and Nightwing but I’ve really wanted to explore more of BatFam and Robin War was the perfect first step. It brings all the original Robins back and also showcases new kids trying to take on the mantle. I tend to like ARCs that crossover into multiple titles a little less just because they skip into so many storylines but I still enjoyed this one. Plus it had my love Dick Grayson so it couldn’t go too wrong.


So have you read any comics or graphic novels recently? Anything I need to check out? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

