Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

Top 5 Wednesday image

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) as a way for book reviewers and lovers to share their love of lists every Wednesday. Check out the Goodreads group.

  1. Katniss Everdeen
  2. Harry Potter
  3. Kaz Brekker
  4. Kate Harker
  5. Vhalla Yarl

Typically I like my books dramatic, dark, and emotionally traumatizing so most of my favorite characters tend to go through some rough stuff. Just because I love them does not mean I’d want to be in their position though.

Who really wants to be thrust into an arena and forced to slaughter other children for the chance to survive. Once Katniss wins though, she’s made into this symbol and has to lead a revolution. All of this weight upon a young girl’s shoulders is not on my to do list.

Same goes for being the chosen one. Harry Potter endures years of pressure as The Boy Who Lived and then has to fulfill a prophecy. He’s lost his parents and than many more a long the way. It would not be easy by any means.

Oh Kaz Brekker. I love him to pieces but I would not want to be in his shoes. He certainly made something of himself, but Dirtyhands did everything the hard way and I like a little relaxation in my life.

Kate Harker from This Savage Song is living in a world of monsters that her father controls. I’ve no desire to live in that world Victoria Schwab created. The Malchai and Corsai haunt my nightmares.

Rounding out the five is Vhalla Yarl from Elise Kova’s Air Awakens series. Vhalla goes through such a huge transformation over the course of these five books being put into life threatening situations, war, emotional upheaval, etc. I could go on and on. Not a life I’d wand to lead.

So who are your Top 5 Characters You Would Not Want to Trade Places With? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Wouldn’t Want to Trade Places With

Leave a Reply

