#TroubleMakersTour : Bringing Ketterdam to Cleveland

image

I was so freaking excited when Leigh Bardugo announced her #TroubleMakersTour dates and Cleveland was on the list!!!! While I did get to meet her at BEA (which was glorious), I wanted to get to one of her book tour stops and it worked out perfectly.

So Crooked Kingdom released on Tuesday and I wanted to have finished it by Wednesday night for the tour stop. I managed to devour the whole thing by the morning of and my emotions were all over the place. Review will be up tomorrow by the way. I made sure to give myself plenty of time to drive to the event since rush hour traffic is a horror show and it was on the other side of Cleveland than me.

I arrived to the South Euclid-Lyndhurst Branch of the Cuyahoga Public Library System right about 6 o’clock and got an amazing seat since I was an hour early. It was all about the waiting game then and I was anxious to know if my friend would make it on time. Thankfully she left work thirty minutes early or she definitely would have been late.

At 7 PM sharp the event began with a little intro from the Teen Librarian and then Leigh was there looking gorgeous as always and rocking some fierce silver hair. The talk began with a little discussion on her books, spoiler free of course, and then branched out into all sorts of topics. The group needled her with questions ranging from her inspiration and ideas to the extremely random.

Despite our best efforts, Leigh was able to keep hold of her secrets and upcoming projects. Though we did find out she buys her ideas in bulk from Costco, cereal in milk is not cold soup, and she seriously ships “Chable”(chair/table). Leigh spoke about how she prefers to write fantasy, how contemporary requires so much more research, and the difference between writing Grisha and Wonder Woman.

The evening ended with Leigh’s signing and when I finally made it to the front of the line she actually remembered that we met previously. I was inwardly freaking out of course but I didn’t completely lose it. I had Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom personalized and then my Grisha trilogy just signed. We talked about my Crooked Kingdom inspired outfit and nails and then that was it!

I had an absolutely amazing evening and I’m so glad I could go. Leigh is one of my all time favorite authors and she’s one of the kindest, funniest, most wonderful human beings I’ve ever met. She’s riveting to listen to and so open and passionate about her craft. I will drive any distance to see her and cannot wait for Wonder Woman next year!

So were you able to make it to a stop of the #TroubleMakersTour? Have you met Leigh before? Started Crooked Kingdom yet? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

