To NaNo or Not to NaNo ~ NaNoWriMo 2016

image

November is fast approaching bringing with it blustery nights, hot beverages, comfort food, and more importantly, National Novel Writing Month better known as NaNoWriMo! If you don’t already know, NaNoWriMo is a fun approach to creative writing that helps you write a novel in 30 days. It encourages writing, not editing, and just getting words down on the page. It’s only 1, 667 words a day!

 Do not fear the title, folks! I am a firm believer and supporter of NaNoWriMo and I highly encourage anyone and everyone to participate in this event. I first discovered NaNoWriMo back in 2010 and have been participating every year since. Writing has never really been my focus but I’m captivated by storytelling. I just love the idea of spending one month of the year putting words to a page and bringing to life characters and places.

Unfortunately this year I’ve been debating on whether or not to participate. I’m now working full time so I need to use every free minute I have wisely and it was always so hard to make time even when I only worked half days. I fear not being able to do the other things I love and I feel like I would have to give up reading which honestly is just not an option. I live to read, people!

I also don’t really have a story in mind this year. Last time around I wrote a fantasy that ended up needing a sequel and that would mean going back and reading what I wrote last year. I’ve never reread my writing, since for me NaNo is just for fun, and I don’t need to be reminded of how bad it is. I could start a new story but I also hate the idea of not reaching 50,000 words.

On the other hand, I love being apart of this community and participating in this program. I love the challenge of it. Seeing your own words and thoughts brought to life before your eyes. I enjoy knowing that I can create something unique and all my own. The encouragement online is fantastic and it pushes me forward. I feel so successful every time I finish. It’s a compelling, inspiring activity.

This is such a dilemma!  As I’m writing this, my coworker is trying to convince me to do this. Peer pressure is real! While I don’t like the thought of not finishing I also don’t like not continuing my NaNoWriMo run. So what should I do? Should I try and see what happens? Make a schedule to prioritize my time? Are you participating this year? Let me know all your thoughts and opinion in the comments below!

Click here for full details on NaNoWriMo!

6 thoughts on “To NaNo or Not to NaNo ~ NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Yay I’m so excited, this is the first year I’m going to participate and I’m hoping it will give me the kick I need to really get going! I can’t believe you’ve been participating since 2010! Very impressed 🙂

    Like

  2. The good news is, you still have a few weeks until November starts. Some years I have been completely against participating until about a week before November 1st, when I have been suddenly hit with inspiration. Thankfully, I tend to be a bit of a pantser, so making the decision last minute isn’t too stressful.
    Either way, you can still keep up with the Nano community, checking in on everyone else’s progress and cheering on everyone who is participating. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

