NaNoWriMo 2016 ~ Update 1

Hello all! How was everyone’s first week of NaNoWriMo? Chugging along? Struggling to continue? Well I hope that all those participating have been writing to their hearts’ content and that the words are flowly freely. On my end I have some good news and unfortunately some bad news.

Let’s start with the bad news. After seven years of starting NaNoWriMo, this will be the first I do not finish. I’ve been suffering from some pain recently and I realized that stressing over NaNo was only going to make things worse. While I’m sad I won’t be continuing my streak, I know that it’s in my best interest. There’s always next year to begin anew.

I did get over 2,ooo words in before stopping so I’ll leave a snippet below:

This is the first Jessa has returned since the incident fifteen years ago. There was too much risk involved in the possibility of being revealed when the Worth’s had to come to sell their produce so she had stayed back in Heath. It wasn’t just that though. The memories were too painful as this moment was truly proving. Tears slip from her eyes rolling down her cheeks. Full of regret for leaving her country without a ruler, feeling responsible for how her father’s nation had fallen.

Now for the good news! I still want to support all the Wrimos out there so call on me whenever you need a pick me up or to check in. NaNoWriMo holds a special place in my heart and I want to be there for all those still plugging away.

So who is all participating in NaNo this year? What are you writing about? Is this your first time or are you a seasoned veteran? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below especially if you want me to support your NaNo endeavors!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 ~ Update 1

  1. I’m sorry you aren’t able to finish 😦 This is my first year participating! I’ve only written about 4000 words so far but that is in between work and life (and reading). My story is a bit of a different one. It’s fantasy, and the main character had her tongue taken away by a Warlock, and has to go on an adventure to get it back. I thought it might be fun writing something a bit out there for my first go πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

