ARC Review: The Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

AcrownsdogThe Crown’s Dog by Elise Kova

Published by Silver Wing Press on November 22, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Pages:  Format: eARC Source: Author

4/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

A coastal summer is turned upside down by a violent murder, and a quest for lost pirate treasure turns into a hunt for the killer.

Jax Wendyll is the crown’s dog. As punishment for the unspeakable crimes that tourment him to this day, his life has been conscripted to the Empire Solaris. However, in an Empire afflicted by peace, his duties are relegated to unquestioningly aiding the antics of the youngest prince, Baldair.

Erion Le’Dan, a nobleman’s son, expects a quiet summer visit to the Imperial Palace, his only agenda to visit with his unlikely friends. But Jax’s discovery the legendary pirate Adela Lagmir’s old workroom inspires a hunt for her long lost treasure.

The pursuit of Adela’s truth takes the three men to the Imperial summer manor, built along the old pirate mainstays. When Adela’s trident is branded into a murdered servant, Prince Baldair’s summer amusement of treasure-hunting becomes a hunt to find the killer. But, as mysteries compound, the ghosts of Jax’s past may not be the only things haunting them.

I received this eARC from the author. This does not impact my thoughts and opinions in any way.


 My love for the Air Awakens series knows no bounds and I’m super pumped that Elise Kova is writing prequel novellas following the beginnings of the Golden Guard. The first one, The Crown’s Dog, focuses on my two fave members, Jax Wendyll and Erion Le’Dan, so needless to say I was dying to read it and I was not disappointed.

With this new installment to the world of Air Awakens, the reader gets to explore more of both it’s history and continent. I’m a sucker for backstory and worldbuilding and this novella gave me plenty. From traversing the Southern Coast to the lore of one of the greatest waterrunners, Adela Lagmir, The Crown’s Dog gathers tons of new information in one place.

Let’s get onto the best part which is, of course, my boys. With Jax we get a front row seat of his thought process and how he deals with his current status after events in the West. Erion is his counterpoint, looking out for him at every turn, but also understanding that he cannot solve everything. Even though Baldair doesn’t have a POV, the reader still gets to see his early years of partying, with not a care in the world. It really hit home on the character development front.

I will say though that it took me a while to get use to hearing from Jax and Erion’s POV’s after solely having Vhalla’s for so long. It felt rough at first but then found the right flow. Once I reached the end though I was clamoring for more. I would read all of these twos escapades if Elise ever has time to write them.

Overall I exceedingly enjoyed The Crown’s Dog and cannot wait for the next two installments. Elise did a wonderful job of fleshing out both her characters and a world I’ve come to know and love. Clearly I recommend everyone read the entire Air Awakens series and then when done pick up this wonderful continuance. I cannot say enough good things about it!

So are you a fan of the Air Awakens series? Are you dying to get your hands on The Crown’s Dog? If you had to pick a fave, would it be Baldair, Jax, or Erion? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a comment