Classic of the Month: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

christmascarolotherA Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Writings by Charles Dickens

Published by Penguin Classics on October 30, 2oo3

Genres: Classics, Fiction, Holiday, Literary

Pages: 288 Format: Paperback Source: Library

4/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Dickens’ story of solitary miser Ebenezer Scrooge, who is taught the true meaning of Christmas by a series of ghostly visitors, has proved one of his most well-loved works. Ever since it was published in 1843 it has had an enduring influence on the way we think about the traditions of Christmas. Dickens’ other Christmas writings collected here include ‘The Story of the Goblins who Stole a Sexton’, the short story from The Pickwick Papers on which A Christmas Carol was based; The Haunted Man, a tale of a man tormented by painful memories; along with shorter pieces, some drawn from the ‘Christmas Stories’ that Dickens wrote annually for his weekly journals. In all of them Dickens celebrates the season as one of geniality, charity and remembrance.


Ebeneezer Scrooge is a self centered grump who cares only of wealth and success. Leave it to three spirits and the ghost of an old friend to bring his worldview into focus and knock some sense into him. This holiday classic has stood the test of time promoting redemption, charity, and good will to all and I’m so glad I’ve finally gotten around to reading it.

When I Discovered This Classic

Who doesn’t know A Christmas Carol? Our world is saturated with this story from the screen to the stage, and of course, the page. I’m pretty sure I saw A Christmas Carol as a play when I was much younger and I’ve also watched a lot of adaptations on television.

Why I Chose To Read It

A couple of friends and I wanted a holiday book to read together and A Christmas Carol was the perfect fit. Plus it checks off my first Dickens story.

What Makes It A Classic

Well it is Charles Dickens people. I think this one is defined as a classic for the way it really hits home the importance of kindness and charity. It also really encompasses what we now consider the holiday of Christmas.

What I Thought Of This Classic

I really really really enjoyed this story. I obviously knew the tale of Ebeneezer Scrooge and the three ghosts but Dickens truly does an excellent job of conveying the joy and cheer of Christmas while bringing ghosts into the mix and leaving me just a little haunted. The depictions of each ghost do an excellent job of representing what each of them stand for as does the Crachits and Scrooge’s nephew. He also captures the Victorian Christmas allowing readers to discover the very beginnings of the holiday celebrated now.

Will It Stay A Classic

Yes! Yes! Yes! The morality and spirit that is conveyed within A Christmas Carol will always be needed in society and this iconic story has truly become synonymous with the holiday season.

Who I’d Recommend It To

If you have not read A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, I highly recommend anyone and everyone to do so. It’s short, impactful, and extremely well written.

So have you read A Christmas Carol? Seen it performed? Let me know in the comments below.

Since this year I am partaking in the 2016 Classics Challenge run by Stacey at PrettyBooks, I thought I’d answer the questions she sets out.

Leave a Reply

