Book Review: The Union by S. Usher Evans

theunionThe Union by S. Usher Evans

Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on February 14, 2017

Genres: New Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 350 Format: Paperback Source: Purchased

4/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Fifty years of war have led to this.

Prince Galian spends his days ministering to the sick in Kylae, but his nights strategizing how to change hearts and minds of his people. With the death camp closed, the country is becoming more volatile, and even King Grieg may not be able to maintain control over the warring factions.

Across the Great Madion Sea, Theo Kallistrate seeks an audience with the Raven rebels, rumored to be brewing insurrection against President Bayard. But they don’t trust her, and progress has been achingly slow. When the war takes a major turn, Theo and Galian find themselves front and center in a political firestorm that could end with their union…or their funeral.


 Is it really over? Say it ain’t so…Series endings tend to take a piece of me with them and that was certainly the case with S. Usher Evans’ The Union. As I became attached to this world and the characters that populate it, I knew this last installment would wreck me. Probably why I put off reading this one for so long. I mean, I’ve had the book since October for goodness sake.

 Starting six months after the end of The Chasm, Prince Galian and Theo Kallistrate are still trying to mount a resistance against the king of Kylae with the help of friends and family. Unfortunately they really aren’t getting anywhere and being so far away from each other has become daunting. King Grieg seems to be ahead of them at every turn and honestly all of them kind of suck at being spies.

Honestly this book felt a little slow for me and the plot felt a bit thin. There was a lot of inner turmoil of course and watching Galian and Theo struggle pulled at my heartstrings. For the most of the book I was just worried about multiple characters that I loved dying and Evans really knows how to mess with my mind. It really shows how her character writing is off the charts.

Overall I really enjoyed The Union and thought it was a pretty good finale to a wonderful series. I’ll always adore Galian, Theo, and all the rest of the Madion War characters and I’m so glad I originally picked these books up. If you haven’t already, I highly recommend trying out the first book, The Island, and see for yourself how amazing this world truly is.

So have you read any of The Madion War Trilogy? Are you prepared for the end of this series? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

