A Schwab Signing: Saying Anoshe to Shades of Magic

When Victoria Schwab announced her tour for A Conjuring of Light the question was how far would I need to travel to see one of my favorite authors. Thankfully it was only a measly four hours to Crestview Hills, KY and my friend and I made plans right away for a Saturday adventure with clear schedules and fingers crossed for good weather.

Luckily no snow came our way and on Saturday March 4, the two of us set out for a fun filled road trip. The back of my car was stuffed full with two of the most important things on this planet, books and food. Seriously we had close to a full refrigerator of snacks back there. We arrived at Joseph-Beth Booksellers with three hours to go before the event so of course some damage was done to my wallet.

With seats in the second row, we waited until seven when Victoria swept in, coat still on, and started the event with the Q & A portion of the event. During that hour, she spoke on everything from her writing style to characters to life and beyond. Instead of being a plotter or a pantser, Victoria is more of a connect the dot person. She begins with both minor and major plot points and then goes from there. Also of note it is illegal to hitchhike in France as Victoria can attest. Possibly the hardest question of the evening was what the Shades of Magic characters favorite fruits would be.

Then it was time for the signing! I have to say Joseph-Beth Booksellers has an excellent method and while we were in Group C, it all went very quickly. I had only brought four books with me but I ended up buying The Archived and The Unbound as well so I had quite the stack to sign. Victoria was so wonderful, personalizing my Shades of Magic books, while I told her how much I love the series.

IMG_3026

After that it was time to head home and those four hours seemed much longer on the way back in the dark. We made it home safe though and the trip was totally worth it! So have you had the chance to read the Shades of Magic series yet? Are you a fan of Victoria’s writing? Any signings coming up that you’re excited for? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

