Traveler: Interview with L.E. DeLano (XPRESSO Book Tours)

TravelerTourBanner copy

travelerTraveler by L.E. DeLano

Published by Swoon Reads on February 7, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction

My Review

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all steampunk pirates and fantasy lifestyles—Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it…This Jessa is going to live.


Interview with L.E. DeLano

How did the idea for Traveler come about?

When I was eight we were living in England, and I watched an old version of “Alice Through The Looking Glass” on TV (it was the 1974 version, which was really creepy). I happened to pass a mirror afterward and thought it would be cool if there was another ‘me’ on the other side. I stared at my reflection for a long time until – I swear to you – I saw the other me blink. It scared me a lot to the point that I still get a creepy feeling if I catch my reflection out of the corner of my eye.

What inspired the different alternate realities you chose?

Some of them started to serve the plot, of course, but a few were just plain brainstorming. What would be cool? What would be fun? What would really throw her off? Figuring that out and using it in the story was one of the most fun parts of writing this book.

If you had to choose, who is your favorite character in the book?

As swoony as Pirate Finn is (especially with that Irish accent), I’m going to go with Danny, Jessa’s older brother. Danny is near and dear to my heart because he is a person with autism (I am an autism parent). I wanted very much to show not just a person with autism in a positive way, but also to shine a light on what it’s like to be a sibling of a special needs person. Jessa has had to grow up very differently than some people because of that – and it’s given her resilience and compassion that are far beyond her years.

On the writing front, what is your go to reward for hitting a deadline?

Allowing myself to binge-watch something. I just completed a binge of Stargate: Atlantis and I have a few seasons of Game of Thrones and Outlander to binge on still!

What were some of the challenges you faced while writing Traveler?

Finding time to write is always a challenge – I’m a single working mom and my kids live with me so the dreamy writer’s nook with total silence and cup of tea where I can leisurely and thoughtfully lay words down on a page is a total pipe dream. It’s chaotic in my house and chaotic at the day job and honestly, I’m a better writer for it. I also had my MacBook die, got into a five-car pileup, and got approached to work on a screenplay in the middle of writing Traveler, so it’s been a wild ride!

Massive thanks to L.E. DeLano for answering my questions! Has this gotten you excited for Traveler? Are you intrigued by these alternate realities? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!


Giveaway

There’s an Xpresso Book Tours giveaway for those in the US and Canada with a chance to win a print copy of Traveler. It ends March 23, 2017.

ENTER HERE


Purchase

~ Amazon ~ Barnes & Noble ~ iBooks ~ Kobo ~


About the Author

Delano copyL.E. DeLano is a YA novelist rep’d by Barry Goldblatt Literary agency, author of the upcoming “Traveler” (Swoon Reads/MacMillan 2017) and lifelong writer. Her work has been featured on various online outlets and she lives in Pennsylvania with two very adventurous kids and two very ridiculous cats. In her spare time, she writes (of course) and binge-watches way too much Netflix.
Author links:

The Tour

March 13th
It’s a Book Life >> Review
Kindle and Me >> Guest post
Happily Ever Chapter >> Review
Betwixt the Pages >> Review
The Novel Lady >> Review

March 14th
Loves Great Reads >> Excerpt
Book Briefs >> Review
Wishful Endings >> Interview
Tine’s Reviews >> Review
The Rest Is Still Unwritten >> Review

March 15th
Reads & Reels >> Review
The Rest Is Still Unwritten >> Excerpt
Closet Readers >> Interview
Rattle the Stars >> Review
Awesome Book Assessment >> Review
Tales of the Ravenous Reader >> Review

March 16th
Girl vs Books >> Review
Hopeful Reads >> Interview
A Dream Within A Dream >> Review
Captivated Reading >> Excerpt
Adventures in Writing >> Review

March 17th
The Page Unbound >> Review
Bibliobibuli YA >> Review
The Avid Reader >> Review
With Love for Books >> Review
Writing My Own Fairy Tale >> Guest post
Novels and Necklaces >> Review


 

3 thoughts on “Traveler: Interview with L.E. DeLano (XPRESSO Book Tours)

  1. Pingback: Lots Of TRAVELER Stuffage Going On! | L.E. DeLano

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March 2017 | Sea Reads

Leave a Reply

