Owning a Piece of the Page & Film Thoughts: Tale as Old as Time

Owning a Piece of the Page is a series to highlight all the bookish merchandise and swag that I have accumulated over the years as a lover of the written word. There’ll be jewelry, posters, maps, accessories, toys, etc. From handmade to mass produced, I bet there will be a little something for everyone to enjoy.

IMG_3140

 In this Owning a Piece of the Page, I’m highlighting my ever growing collection of Beauty and the Beast goodies and even giving some thoughts on the live action remake that was just released. Let’s start with the merch first!

Look at all those cute figures! POP Funkos always pull me in and I’ve got two of Belle in her yellow gown. I also adore the Beast in his winter wear, complete with bird friends. I also couldn’t help myself with this Belle ornament where she’s reading by the fountain or the stain glass compact mirror.

What would any collection be without bookmarks and stickers? I picked up these gorgeous ones from Nerdy Girl Designs on Etsy. Look how adorable all the characters are! Another Etsy find is from one of my favorite artists Karen Hallion with this notecard of the Doctor inviting Belle into the Tardis.

As a sucker for all things pretty I couldn’t help but jump on this Evie Seo notebook design on Society 6. Rounding out my collection is the book itself. This one is designed by the incomparable MinaLima full of fun, interactive paper products.

Film Thoughts

So this weekend I went to see the new Beauty and the Beast movie and have to say I really enjoyed it. The hype was so real and while this adaptation was nothing ground breaking, the nostalgia held me enthralled. I loved the added background for a bunch of the characters and the darker aspects of the story. Plus the music was exquisite, but I wanted more from Emma Watson’s voice. And Belle’s reaction to the library was pretty much the highlight of everything. Overall I was definitely pleased with the film and I’m glad I got to see it on the big screen.

Are you a fan of Beauty and the Beast? Do you have a collection of goodies like mine? Already seen the live action remake? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

