ARC Review: Magic & Mayhem by S. Usher Evans

MagicMayhemMagic & Mayhem by S. Usher Evans

Published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing on April 4, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 280 Format: eARC Source: Publisher

2.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

I acquired this ARC from the publisher for review purposes. This does not impact my thoughts and opinions in any way.

At the start of her senior year of high school, Lexie Carrigan is focused on two things–getting into the college of her dreams and keeping her sisters safe. But when Gavon’s apprentice, James Riley, appears on the first day of school, all of Lexie’s well-laid plans of having a normal senior year go out the window.


 Returning to the world of Spells & Sorcery, S. Usher Evans’ follow up, Magic & Mayhem takes off at the start of Lexie’s senior year as she tries to return to some normalcy. Fate has other plans though when a boy from her past appears. Honestly my thoughts on this book are all over the place, so let’s see if I can piece some semblance of them together. I’ll start with what worked for me: characters and writing.

Lexie is dealing with all the trials and tribulations of a senior in high school. Trying to make the grades as well as income to pay for her top school. Along with that she’s also struggling with the repercussions of her magic and jaunt to New Salem. And then James Riley drops in to spoil everything. But not really, he’s just there to learn. I thought the insight to New Salem from his eyes was much needed and really enjoyed all his scenes.

It’s no secret that I like S. Usher Evans’ writing. It ‘s fluid, fast and makes reading a fun experience. This one is no different. I flew through it, needing to know what happens next. Unfortunately I wasn’t particularly happy where it ended up. Furious really! Add to the that the lack of development with her family and the threats of New Salem and this sequel just left me wanting so much more.

Overall Magic & Mayhem by S. Usher Evans was enjoyable to a point but I wish some of the issues I had with the first one would have been resolved. There seemed to be just less of everything and the ending really pissed me off. Still liked the writing and connected with the characters though. If you’re a fan of Evans’ work I’d recommend reading but this may not be for everyone.

So are you excited for Lexie’s return? Ready for the latest S. Usher Evan’s title? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Magic & Mayhem by S. Usher Evans

Leave a Reply

