Book Review: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

TheFinalEmpireThe Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Published by Orion Publishing Co on October 1, 2009

Genres: Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 647 Format: Paperback Source: Purchased

4.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage — Allomancy, a magic of the metals.


Thanks to this month’s Tome Topple I have finally read the first book in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series. I’d previously picked The Final Empire up but only made it about 50 pages before getting waylaid by the many other titles at my fingertips. Now I’m glad I came back for a second go. This land of ash and mist sucked me in with a unique magic system, intriguing characters, and a plot that had me gasping out loud.

First of all, Sanderson is either a genius or a monster for creating a magic system this brilliant and complex. Allomancy is all about metals and being able to swallow and burn them to gain powers. Most people can only use one metal while Mistborns can use all of them. It’s such a detailed system and I couldn’t help but love that every page seemed to unlock a new tidbit.

There’s numerous characters introduced in The Final Empire but Vin and Kelsier were the stand outs. Vin goes from street urchin just trying to survive to an integral part of a team. She’s had it rough and trusting others is difficult for her, but Vin grows tremendously in her new role. Kelsier, on the other hand, is full of charisma and a natural leader. Despite his talents, he’s still learning, and teaching Vin opens up even more avenues of knowledge for him.

Talk about twists and turns! The plotting in this narrative was top notch and my emotions were all over the place. One moment I’m sobbing, the next my jaw is on the floor. So many scenes were multi-layered and the fights were ridiculously epic. I will say I struggled to get into this one and as its a rather large book there were a number of times where the story dragged. It was a slow read, but definitely worth it in the end.

 Overall I really really enjoyed The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. It may have taken me a while to get into the story but I’m glad I persevered. Otherwise I wouldn’t have learned all about Allomancy, the precious characters, and discovered this stunning plot. This series comes highly recommended by most people in the book world and I’m fully jumping on this bandwagon. Give it a chance!

So have you read The Final Empire? Do you pick up a lot of backlist books? What do you think of the combination of magic and metals? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

