Thoughts on A Court of Wings and Ruin

Let me start off by saying that I know there’s a lot of problematic stuff when it comes to Sarah J. Maas’ books. I have mixed feelings on this series, ACOTAR was problematic and just alright while I adored ACOMAF. As I’ve only ever purchased this title, I feel I need to share my jumbled thoughts. Just be prepared for this to be all over the place…


A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. MaasACOWAR

Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 2, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 705 Format: Hardcover Source: Purchased

3.5/5 Stars

Image and Description Credit: Goodreads

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.


I think the best place to start with A Court of Wings and Ruin is the problems. In terms of story, there was way too much going on and some scenes felt like a waste. The pacing was definitely off and it dragged the narrative down in places. Even at 700 pages and with companion novels coming, too many questions were left unanswered. I didn’t feel any type of closure.

For a fantasy world, the lack of diversity is a shame. While it seems like Maas attempted to rectify this with new characters and reveals, it felt forced with hurtful tropes and just really not genuine. There’ also blatant acephobia three chapters in that there’s no way to construe differently. Plus the heavy reliance on abuse to fuel plot still lingers throughout the story.

The reason why this series still has a hold on me though are these freaking characters. Feyre, Rhys, Cassian, Mor, Azriel, and Amren stole my heart in ACOMAF and the Court of Dreams was better than ever in this one. I love the camaraderie, reliance, and trust between all of them and the growth has been tremendous. I’m also glad that Nesta & Elain had room to find their own way.

Story wise my favorite part was discovering more about the other courts and their high lords. The dynamics between them made for a lot of interesting moments but it still wasn’t enough. The last seventy five pages were a whirlwind of extremely intense and emotional scenes which I pretty much sobbed all the way through. I was surprised by how much I cared about certain characters in the end.

Overall I enjoyed A Court of Wings and Ruin but it didn’t feel as cohesive as it’s predecessor. I still adore these characters and their journey towards acceptance. There were a lot of loose threads at the end so I’ll be picking up the companion series from the library to find out what happens next. I have no intention of ever starting Throne of Glass now though. There’s too many other excellent stories and authors to experience.

So how did you feel about A Court of Wings and Ruin? What do you think of Sarah J. Maas’ writing? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on A Court of Wings and Ruin

  1. I’m on the fence about this series. I don’t think diversity should be thrown in just to have diversity. If the author can’t do it they shouldn’t bother. I read about 124 pages of the first book so I’m in a limbo of deciding whether or not not I want to read this series. I’m probably more likely to read Throne Of Glass.

    Like

Leave a Reply

