Brilliant Books: An Indie Bookstore Visit

Since I don’t have an independent bookstore at home I like to discover them during my travels. That means when I’m on vacation, a quest for the best indie begins.

One of my annual adventures is always up to Traverse City, Michigan to visit my best friend from college and her family. Thankfully this beautiful city right off the water is home to an amazing indie bookstore, Brilliant Books.

I discovered this haven a couple of years ago and make a point to hit them up every time I’m in town. They’ve got an excellent collection of fiction, nonfiction, YA, and children’s titles along with a lot of other cool knick knacks. They even carry Out of Print merchandise which I always peruse through.

As is so often the case I was drawn to the Young Adult section where I swept the shelves for the perfect items to purchase. I managed to snag a HC copy of Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell which had been an Independent Bookstore Day exclusive. I also picked up Geekerella and Ramona Blue!

Overall Brilliant Books is a gorgeous bookstore that is super welcoming to the community and has a presence all their own. If you’re ever up in Northern Michigan I definitely recommend you check this indie out! Can’t make it that far? They offer free shipping on their website so you can still support them from far away. How cool is that?

Do you have a favorite bookstore you visit while on vacation? Like to discover new indies during your travels?

Let me know in the comments below!

 

One thought on “Brilliant Books: An Indie Bookstore Visit

Leave a Reply

