Mid Year Book Freak Out 2017

IMG_4654

Today I’m bringing you a mid year tag to recap some of my reading from the first half of 2017. I discovered this one on Literary Legionnaire and it was created by Read Like Wildfire and Earl Grey Books. Check out my responses below!


Best Book I’ve Read So Far In 2017

How to pick just one? At the top is definitely A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab but I also adored The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli!

Best Sequel I’ve Read So Far In 2017

Not surprisingly another Victoria Schwab title. Our Dark Duet left me a mess but it was oh so amazing!

New Release I Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

I’ve got a bunch of books on my shelf from earlier this year still to read but I really need to get to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Must read faster…

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

Where to even begin? There’s 27 Hours by Trisitina Wright, Warcross by Marie Lu, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao, Turtles All the Way Down by John Green, The Language of Thorns and Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo. Honestly I could go on and on and on. Fall 2017 is overflowing with excellent stories.

Biggest Disappointment

Probably Gilded Cage by Vic James. It just wasn’t what I expected and I didn’t connect at all.

Biggest Surprise

I thought I would like Noteworthy by Riley Redgate but I didn’t expect to fall head over heels for it. Just so freaking good!

Favorite New Author

Mackenzi Lee! A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue was phenomenal and I love the way she writes funny historical fiction. Just bought the audiobook for this one for a reread and I’m so excited.

Newest Fictional Crush

Rishi from When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon was an absolute delight. He’s sweet, nerdy, and so endearing. I love him so much!

Newest Favorite Character

Jason Zhou from Want by Cindy Pon was such a cool character. He was conflicted yet driven and his friends were family. Definitely loved his voice and story arc.

Book That Made Me Cry

Most recently How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake left me a complete wreck. I read it in one four hour sitting during a road trip and sobbed pretty much the entire book.

Book That Made Me Happy

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde was such a wonderful cute story set at a convention. It just made my heart sing.

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation I’ve Seen This Year

You know what I haven’t really seen any book to movie adaptations this year unless Wonder Woman is a valid option. I’m gonna count it. It was too amazing not to.

Favorite Review I’ve Written This Year

I think my fave this year has been Saints and Misfits review. I really loved this one from S.K. Ali and hope people pick this one up.

Most Beautiful Book I’ve Bought So Far This Year

So far I think both editions of Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor are the prettiest purchases. I just love the blue and yellow gold combination.

Books I Need To Read By The End Of This Year

So many!!!! Hopefully Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken, The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon, and The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Obviously The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas as well. These are really just the beginning.


How has your 2017 reading year been? Any books I need on my radar?

Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out 2017

  1. I am LOVING all the Schwabness in your post. She is the best! I also recently finished read The Upside of Unrequited. That Albertalli sure knows how tug at our heartstrings. Three (?) thumbs up for Leigh Bardugo’s Wonder Woman–I cannot WAIT to read that one. I’ll for sure be envisioning Gal Godot as Wonder Woman–hope that doesn’t wreck anything. Did you see the movie?

    Like

  2. Oh, and one more thing. You are SO RIGHT about the cover for Strange the Dreamer. I’m reading the blue and yellow cover version right now, and every time I pick it up to read again I’m pleasantly re-surprised by how beautiful the cover is!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

